Diego's Special Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
My husband and his mom loved this recipe. We followed the directions to a T. My husband generally doesn't eat red meat so I was very happy he enjoyed this. I personally like a lot of flavors so I was happy with the seasoning and probably won't change that. To the reviewer below though, it's red wine, not red wine vinegar. That probably would taste really bad in a slow cooker. Great recipe overall. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
We really liked this stew; my husband especially loved it and said it was one of the best beef stews he's ever eaten. I did make a few changes. I didn't put any wine in, and the second time I made I used half the thyme the recipe called for. The first time I made it we all thought the thyme flavor was a bit overpowering, so we liked it better with less. Still, a five star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHERHIPPO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kellogg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Highly recommended. Delicious and easy. I work full time and am always looking for good slow cooker recipes. The meat was so tender and even my son asked for seconds. I can't get him to eat much else but bologna these days so you can imagine I was very happy about that. My husband enjoyed it enought to as kme to "please" make it again. The only think I changed was I added my version of dumplings at the end. Steaming them for 20 minutes. For me it really added to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This was an awesome recipe. My Parents have never had slow cooker style stew, and they came back for seconds! Since we're not big on wine, we omitted it, and it still came out great! We just substituted more beef broth. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
"My husband is a very picky eater and he loved this recipe. The roast literaly fell apart and was so tender. The only thing I would do different is maybe less rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
The seasoning is perfect! Both of my picky eaters loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This was great! I really enjoyed it, and it was easy to put together. I needed this for lunch, so I made it at 10pm and let it cook overnight on low. I didn't pre-cook the beef or onions. I omitted the wine but used a splash of red wine vinegar. I also used a can of beef broth instead of boullion, and added lots more carrots and some fresh green beans. Also added a fresh garlic clove. About 1.5 hours before we ate, I thickened it with a flour/water paste (twice) because it was more soup-like than stew like. I know I made a lot of changes, but this is still a 5-star recipe because it lends itself very well to changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I made this recipe yesterday, starting it before work and coming home to the most wonderful aroma. (I just love slow cookers!). I used a homeade vegetable stock I had on hand instead of boullion and adjusted the water accordingly. I too did not change anything else because it looked good to me on paper and I'm happy to report that it turned just wonderful. The meat was so tender and the flavor was great. For my own preference I took a bit of liquid out just before serving and whisked in a bit of flour till it was smooth and then poured it back into the cooker for about 20 minutes to thicken is up a bit. I prefer a thicker "stew". This was so tasty and just what I needed after a long day. I highly recommend :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Loved it! I'm pretty sure you need to double the recipe though. The way it is written will not feed six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This was mighty good, instead of wine I used beef stock because that is what I had on hand. This was so good, that even my son who hates onions ate it and had seconds. I did however double the recipe. I fed four with just enough left for one serving for lunch the next day. For lunch I served it over rice, and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States