Diego's Special Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This was very good. Easy to prepare and tasty. I left out the Wocestershire (only because I didn't have any) and it was still god. Next time I might add some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin Square, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This was easy and very good! Don't let the description that says a LOT of onion scare you...it is not at all overpowering. The only thing I expected to be different was the consistency...I thought it would be Thicker so maybe next time I can remedy that by adding less liquid. Ate it over cornbread and was very tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Hi there..... Pretty tasty recipe.... I thought the rosemary and the thyme were a bit over powering but would make it again and just add a little less of those..Overall we enjoyed it... thanks....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This was an awesome recipe. My Parents have never had slow cooker style stew, and they came back for seconds! Since we're not big on wine, we omitted it, and it still came out great! We just substituted more beef broth. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
"My husband is a very picky eater and he loved this recipe. The roast literaly fell apart and was so tender. The only thing I would do different is maybe less rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
We really liked this stew; my husband especially loved it and said it was one of the best beef stews he's ever eaten. I did make a few changes. I didn't put any wine in, and the second time I made I used half the thyme the recipe called for. The first time I made it we all thought the thyme flavor was a bit overpowering, so we liked it better with less. Still, a five star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHERHIPPO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kellogg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
The seasoning is perfect! Both of my picky eaters loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This was great! I really enjoyed it, and it was easy to put together. I needed this for lunch, so I made it at 10pm and let it cook overnight on low. I didn't pre-cook the beef or onions. I omitted the wine but used a splash of red wine vinegar. I also used a can of beef broth instead of boullion, and added lots more carrots and some fresh green beans. Also added a fresh garlic clove. About 1.5 hours before we ate, I thickened it with a flour/water paste (twice) because it was more soup-like than stew like. I know I made a lot of changes, but this is still a 5-star recipe because it lends itself very well to changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This was really good, even picky boys ate it. Next time I will use less spices. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Flavor was good, but was more like soup than stew. Would be better if could be thickened with lumping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States