Diego's Special Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Go Diego Go! I loved this recipe & so did my boyfriend. I had about 3 pounds of stew meat. I added 1 cup of red wine and used a pound of carrots and a bag of baby potatoes which I cut in half. I didn't have any bouillon cubes so I used beef stock. I had fresh rosemary so I threw in a few sprigs in place of the dried. I also threw in a bay leaf. The flavor was great. The recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This stew was quite tasty, I did however use fresh garlic, canned beef broth (what I had on hand) and stirred in a couple of spoonfuls of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
We loved this recipe. Changed the herbs but not the flavour. Used real garden herbs instead of dried herbs. Added two tablespoons of mixed oats for thickening. Otherwise all flavours authentic to the recipe. Turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Good basic starter recipe. Needs to be adjusted to taste and veggies can be added to or changed. OH BTW If you think red wine and red wine vinegar are the same.....Oh my 1/4 cupmust of been quite strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Love beef stew. I do not buy stew meat as to me it is the tough part of meat. I buy a good cut of meat or even steaks and cut it up and it makes a much better stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Seems as if this would work just as well to cook in dutch oven on the stove and complete in an hour and a half stove top to the dinner table. I apologize for comming across as a negative nancy but cooking ingredients before transfering to a slow cooker seems to defeat the idea of simplicity behind slow cookering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
JENBOYETT, it's red wine, not red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimcronin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Double the flour when coating the meat. After removing meat and adding onions, sprinkle remaining flour over them. Brown onions and put meat back in pot. Add 3-4 tbs of tomato paste, tossing all to coat. This gives a rich coating and adds another taste dimension and also helps thicken the stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
FINALLY!!!! A beef stew recipe without tomato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Made as is with the exception of no red wine because I had none. Family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States