Diane's Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Absolutely love Colcannon. Used to buy it at an Irish Pub where we ate lunch. Since the pub is now closed, I was searching for a recipe. I only made one change but that wasn't too make it better, but so my sister could eat it as well. I left out the bacon. I sauted the cabbage and onion in olive oil. Everything else was done the same. Next time I will try it with the cole slaw mix. It sounds good and the added color would be great. Thanks for the terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYEC14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Palestine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dxb babe
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I didn't have bacon so I used pork sausage. Was still very good. My kids didn't realise they were eating cabbage. Thank you ! Will keep this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Very good! Next time will double the bacon. And maybe add some green onions. Easy to make ahead of time, but wait until rewarmed & ready to serve to add melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Delicious ... couldn't keep it on the table. The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Moore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Actually colcannon is traditional for Halloween in Ireland and does not have bacon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Very interesting & very tasty. Reminded me how much I like cabbage. My family liked it as much as I did. Which is surprising, because they are so picky. I loved thinking about my Irish relatives eating this in the Old Country. Made me feel connected. Weird, maybe I was just missing my Grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Yummy way to use up the garden cabbage. No changes, served with Braised Corned Beef Brisket by mauigirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Made exactly as is. Great little side although I ended up eating only this and a salad for dinner. Next time I would add double the bacon. It's not necessary to do so but I love bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States