Diane's Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I made this recipe again tonight, it's usually reserved for St. Patrick's day but I had a huge head of cabbage in my CSA box this week. It turned out amazing as always! I used red potatoes and extra bacon. I served it with Beer-Baked Irish Beef Stew (also usually reserved for St. Pat's). I don't always make these two dishes together, but I should. They are amazing together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Very easy meal, my boys love it and it really "sticks to your ribs" perfect as it is yet you can play around with your own ingredients to change it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I served this with meatloaf. WOW! What a hit! I will make this over and over again. I used six pieces of bacon, and will probably use eight next time, but I love bacon. I dumped half the bacon grease before cooking cabbage and onions. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Yum, yum, yum! Easy recipe that really adds a lot to regular mashed potatoes and is probably my new favorite comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I used the bagged coleslaw mix as well. It was wonderful. I made this as a side to corned beef for St. Pat's Day. I would make this again as a side dish to any meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Regarding the cabbage versus kale debate: why not both? Regarding the amount of bacon: why not more? I made this for the first time this year for St. Patrick's Day, and after reading the many comments, I decided to use both cabbage and kale. I also decided to use more bacon than the recipe called for, because... well, you know... it's bacon! It was delicious, and the whole family really loved it. I have made it once since then, and plan on doing so many times in the future. It was a wonderful complement to my own famous Guinness slow-cooked corned beef. This will become a staple recipe in our household to replace traditional mashed spuds. It'll give me a chance to show off my Irish heritage in future meals, even when it's not St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I came across this nice delish dish on the lead up to St. Patrick's day, but waited until today to make it with a baked ham. This might be intended as an Irish dish, but it's perfect for any meat and tater day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Big hit at church supper. I HATE cabbage and I love this. More power to the veg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States