Diane's Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
My family loves this, even my extremely picky eaters! My only change is adding left over corned beef, garlic and creamcheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
My husband was not particularly looking forward to this. I told him that it was mashed potatoes and cabbage. He frowned. I said, "It has bacon." He gave me a sneer. But when the entire dish was completed, he LOVED it. He isn't a savage, after all. He even mashed the potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Absolutely love Colcannon. Used to buy it at an Irish Pub where we ate lunch. Since the pub is now closed, I was searching for a recipe. I only made one change but that wasn't too make it better, but so my sister could eat it as well. I left out the bacon. I sauted the cabbage and onion in olive oil. Everything else was done the same. Next time I will try it with the cole slaw mix. It sounds good and the added color would be great. Thanks for the terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYEC14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Palestine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dxb babe
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I didn't have bacon so I used pork sausage. Was still very good. My kids didn't realise they were eating cabbage. Thank you ! Will keep this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Very good! Next time will double the bacon. And maybe add some green onions. Easy to make ahead of time, but wait until rewarmed & ready to serve to add melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Delicious ... couldn't keep it on the table. The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Moore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Actually colcannon is traditional for Halloween in Ireland and does not have bacon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Very interesting & very tasty. Reminded me how much I like cabbage. My family liked it as much as I did. Which is surprising, because they are so picky. I loved thinking about my Irish relatives eating this in the Old Country. Made me feel connected. Weird, maybe I was just missing my Grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Yummy way to use up the garden cabbage. No changes, served with Braised Corned Beef Brisket by mauigirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States