Diane's Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I served this with meatloaf. WOW! What a hit! I will make this over and over again. I used six pieces of bacon, and will probably use eight next time, but I love bacon. I dumped half the bacon grease before cooking cabbage and onions. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Yum, yum, yum! Easy recipe that really adds a lot to regular mashed potatoes and is probably my new favorite comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I used the bagged coleslaw mix as well. It was wonderful. I made this as a side to corned beef for St. Pat's Day. I would make this again as a side dish to any meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Regarding the cabbage versus kale debate: why not both? Regarding the amount of bacon: why not more? I made this for the first time this year for St. Patrick's Day, and after reading the many comments, I decided to use both cabbage and kale. I also decided to use more bacon than the recipe called for, because... well, you know... it's bacon! It was delicious, and the whole family really loved it. I have made it once since then, and plan on doing so many times in the future. It was a wonderful complement to my own famous Guinness slow-cooked corned beef. This will become a staple recipe in our household to replace traditional mashed spuds. It'll give me a chance to show off my Irish heritage in future meals, even when it's not St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I came across this nice delish dish on the lead up to St. Patrick's day, but waited until today to make it with a baked ham. This might be intended as an Irish dish, but it's perfect for any meat and tater day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Big hit at church supper. I HATE cabbage and I love this. More power to the veg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Don't bother making a single batch, go double or nothing! I barely got it to the table the first time I made it. I had to substitute half kale as I didn't have quite enough cabbage and we really liked it that way. Intend to increase the kale in future batches. Also have taken to adding more bacon but draining off a majority of the drippings. I mash my potatoes in a mixer so they are creamier and fluffier, then add the veggies and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This was really easy and really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Cibolo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made half the recipe for 4 servings and the family loved it. This was our first time eating Colcannon. Even my mashed potato-purist daughter liked it. I fried the cabbage enough to caramelize some pieces, & even sprinkled a tiny bit of brown sugar on top before covering the pan. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made as written and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States