Diane's Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I used the bagged coleslaw mix as well. It was wonderful. I made this as a side to corned beef for St. Pat's Day. I would make this again as a side dish to any meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Regarding the cabbage versus kale debate: why not both? Regarding the amount of bacon: why not more? I made this for the first time this year for St. Patrick's Day, and after reading the many comments, I decided to use both cabbage and kale. I also decided to use more bacon than the recipe called for, because... well, you know... it's bacon! It was delicious, and the whole family really loved it. I have made it once since then, and plan on doing so many times in the future. It was a wonderful complement to my own famous Guinness slow-cooked corned beef. This will become a staple recipe in our household to replace traditional mashed spuds. It'll give me a chance to show off my Irish heritage in future meals, even when it's not St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I came across this nice delish dish on the lead up to St. Patrick's day, but waited until today to make it with a baked ham. This might be intended as an Irish dish, but it's perfect for any meat and tater day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Big hit at church supper. I HATE cabbage and I love this. More power to the veg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Don't bother making a single batch, go double or nothing! I barely got it to the table the first time I made it. I had to substitute half kale as I didn't have quite enough cabbage and we really liked it that way. Intend to increase the kale in future batches. Also have taken to adding more bacon but draining off a majority of the drippings. I mash my potatoes in a mixer so they are creamier and fluffier, then add the veggies and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This was really easy and really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Cibolo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made half the recipe for 4 servings and the family loved it. This was our first time eating Colcannon. Even my mashed potato-purist daughter liked it. I fried the cabbage enough to caramelize some pieces, & even sprinkled a tiny bit of brown sugar on top before covering the pan. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made as written and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
My Family loved it! The boys all said these mashed potatoes ROCK! Excellent side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Fantastic dish! I used baby spinach instead of cabbage (personal preference) and it was delicious! I also had a happy accident the first time I made it and it turned out great; if you add 1 cup of buttermilk and 2 cups of regular milk this makes an excellent potato soup! I was so upset for mixing the two recipes I was making, but the soup was the favorite of the night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States