Diana's Hawaiian Bread Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I cannot believe all of the 5-star ratings on this recipe--it's SO BAD! I'm sorry, I rarely ever give anything below a 3, but these are just *that* bad ... I followed the recipe, except that I didn't have molasses, so I used more honey ... they were absolutely beautiful when they came out of the oven, and they smelled heavenly ... we couldn't wait to sit down to them! But, OMG, when you bit into them ... all we could taste was lemon extract ... We both think these would have been yummy without that extract, so I am going to try them again without it ... thanks for the recipe, but, I'm sorry ... this was just bad. **I made the recipe w/o the lemon extract, and the rolls were GREAT ... I used honey in place of the molasses, as I did before, and I used 2 T. white sugar/3 T. dark brown sugar ... I also got to looking over the reviews, and I noticed that almost all of the 5-star reviews had left the lemon extract out for one reason or another ... I HIGHLY recommend you do the same! :)**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
I have tried MANY, MANY bread machine recipes but this one cannot be supplanted as my favorite, by far! Every time I make it I get requests for the recipe. When I'm feeling lazy, instead of making the rolls I just put my bread machine on the basic bread cycle and let the machine do all the work--the loaf comes out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
Foolproof recipe for great sweet dinner rolls. The only modification I made are omitting the lemon extract because seems like it is too overpowering, and substitute the tablespoon of molasses with honey (total 2 Tbl honey instead) since I don't have molasses on hand. I also make 20 rolls instead of 12, and they are all pretty good size still. I've used this recipe three times already. Would recommend this easy and great recipe to anybody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I made this without a bread machine and it was quite easy and worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This recipe won the hearts (and stomachs) of my family. They absolutely went crazy over these rolls. Delicious! I substituted a few ingredients, such as: almond extract for the lemon extract, 2 Tbsp. of honey instead of molasses, and 2 Tbsp of butter instead of butter flavored shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
These rolls are absolutely wonderful! They are very simple to make, and as one reviewer said, they even freeze well. The best way to do this is to roll up your 18 pieces or so of dough (only making 12 made them very dense and the middles never seemed to get done while the outside was too done), place them on a baking sheet in the freezer for 1-2 hours. Then place in a freezer bag and place back into the freezer until you need them. I use 2 tsp of vanilla and no lemon extract, and I use 2 tblsp honey and no molasses. Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Amazingly delicious. Soft, doughy, yummy. Be sure not to overcook or they'll be dry! AND be sure to add an extra half cup of flour to the mix. Also, it makes more like 2 dozen rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This was a great recipe! I loved it. My whole family loved it. My best friend wanted the recipe, and my boyfriend wanted me to make more. I used almond extract instead of lemon, 2 tbsp. honey instead of the molasses, regular shortening instead of butter flavored, and an extra half cup of flour. I also make 24 rolls instead of 12 and they came out a really good size. If you only made 12, they would be pretty big, but a good size if you wanted to make sandwiches. 24 makes a nicely sized dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Wow! These were SO good. I will make these again (and again...and again....). I followed what other reviewers did and substituted honey for the molasses and almond extract for the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
These are wonderful!! I took the advice of a few other reviews and subed honey for the molasses,(my kids HATE molasses), and used almond extract instead of lemon. Although I think I will try the lemon next time. I did find the dough a bit sticky but nothing unworkable. It was worth the dough stuck on my hands for sure! I made 18 good sized rolls and glazed them before baking with 1 egg yolk and a bit of heavy cream - it makes them very shiny and pretty. These were a huge hit will all the family, especially my 4 kids. They told their daddy to stop eating the rolls so they could have some for their sandwiches at school the next day....I put a few aside and let my husband eat to his content. Thank you so very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States