Diana's Hawaiian Bread Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Have never made rolls with my bread machine before and WOW, these were a great first try! The dough came out Perfect! Light, fluffy, not sticky. Super Easy to make. I used 2T honey and no molasses as others suggested, may try less lemon next time. The last time I had Hawaiian bread was my honeymoon 4 1/2 years ago, and while these don't taste exactly like a remember (I seem to recall it being just a bit sweeter) these were absolutely delicious. Serving with Kalua pig in the slow cooker from this site tonight with dinner. YUMMY! I'd say well worth the effort, but there's really so little effort involved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
These are absolutely delicious. My family loves them. I like a tiny bit less lemon, but they're great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This is excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Technically, the recipe worked but the results were very very doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
These turned out very nicely, though not exactly like the Hawaiian bread you buy. The texture was pleasantly dense, and they have a mildly sweet flavor. You may want to brush them with an egg and water mixture before baking for shiny tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This recipe was really awful all the way around. Not even my dog liked them. The dough was sticky and gross and impossible to work with. I added 1/4 cup more flour and it was still impossible. I followed the recipe to the letter and am a pretty good cook. It is not often I make something really bad. This was that bad and SO frustrating to work with. I did muddle through it, I did get them to the oven and I had ugly brownish rolls. Truly nasty, I think this is the worst recipe I have ever made from this site actually. If you want fluffy and sweet rolls for something do yourself a favor, do what I did after I got these disasters out of the oven and took a bite. I went back to my tried and true, the "Tasty Buns" recipe on this same site. I added 1/4 cup more sugar and a little lemon extract (1/8 tsp)and a little vanilla extract (1/2 tsp) and YUMMY white fluffy delicious rolls, better than the store and Soooo easy to work with. "Tasty Buns" recipe, look it up and pass on this horrible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Not as "fabulous" as others would like you to believe. For the time, effort, and ingredients, I suggest a kinder approach to both yourself and your kitchen; go buy them at the nearest grocer's. The only thing these were good for, was a creative salvage the next day as french toast nuggets. That is the ONLY reason I cannot in good faith give this recipe only one star. My french toast was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anthem, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I have made these rolls so many times, I have lost count! I make the following substitutions: almond for the lemon, 2 T instead of 1 T of honey, 1/3 c brown sugar for the 5 T white sugar, marjarine for the butter flavored sortening and 1 T yeast instead of 2 t. My machine usually doesn't use that much flour, so I help it mix with a rubber spatula. My son eats 6 out of the 12 rolls for breakfast regularly! Everyone loves these rolls. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
These rolls are fantastic! I had to make some minor changes, due to the ingredients I had on hand. I used 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract and 2 tablespoons of honey and they turned out great. I made 24 dinner rolls and my husband ate 4 of them and wanted more! Thanks for this great recipe, it is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I can't say enough about this recipe. It is fantastic. The only change I made was to substitute almond extract for the lemon. I've made them as dinner rolls and as sandwich rolls for pulled pork. There are never any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States