Diana's Hawaiian Bread Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This is excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Technically, the recipe worked but the results were very very doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
These turned out very nicely, though not exactly like the Hawaiian bread you buy. The texture was pleasantly dense, and they have a mildly sweet flavor. You may want to brush them with an egg and water mixture before baking for shiny tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This recipe was really awful all the way around. Not even my dog liked them. The dough was sticky and gross and impossible to work with. I added 1/4 cup more flour and it was still impossible. I followed the recipe to the letter and am a pretty good cook. It is not often I make something really bad. This was that bad and SO frustrating to work with. I did muddle through it, I did get them to the oven and I had ugly brownish rolls. Truly nasty, I think this is the worst recipe I have ever made from this site actually. If you want fluffy and sweet rolls for something do yourself a favor, do what I did after I got these disasters out of the oven and took a bite. I went back to my tried and true, the "Tasty Buns" recipe on this same site. I added 1/4 cup more sugar and a little lemon extract (1/8 tsp)and a little vanilla extract (1/2 tsp) and YUMMY white fluffy delicious rolls, better than the store and Soooo easy to work with. "Tasty Buns" recipe, look it up and pass on this horrible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Not as "fabulous" as others would like you to believe. For the time, effort, and ingredients, I suggest a kinder approach to both yourself and your kitchen; go buy them at the nearest grocer's. The only thing these were good for, was a creative salvage the next day as french toast nuggets. That is the ONLY reason I cannot in good faith give this recipe only one star. My french toast was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anthem, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I have made these rolls so many times, I have lost count! I make the following substitutions: almond for the lemon, 2 T instead of 1 T of honey, 1/3 c brown sugar for the 5 T white sugar, marjarine for the butter flavored sortening and 1 T yeast instead of 2 t. My machine usually doesn't use that much flour, so I help it mix with a rubber spatula. My son eats 6 out of the 12 rolls for breakfast regularly! Everyone loves these rolls. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
These rolls are fantastic! I had to make some minor changes, due to the ingredients I had on hand. I used 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract and 2 tablespoons of honey and they turned out great. I made 24 dinner rolls and my husband ate 4 of them and wanted more! Thanks for this great recipe, it is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I can't say enough about this recipe. It is fantastic. The only change I made was to substitute almond extract for the lemon. I've made them as dinner rolls and as sandwich rolls for pulled pork. There are never any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
These were AWESOME! For those familiar, they taste just like Portuguese rolls, with more of a Parker House density to them. I was "practicing" them for a luau-themed kids' party I'm having soon, and plan to use them as rolls for Hawaiian pulled pork (Kalua pork) sandwiches. My only problem is gonna be that nobody will believe I made these from scratch...they look sooooo good! My two kids could not stop snitching these right off the baking sheet, and one even asked if she could have another one as her dessert. Thank you, Diana, for what I'm sure will be one of the hits of my party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This was a great recipe! I loved it. My whole family loved it. My best friend wanted the recipe, and my boyfriend wanted me to make more. I used almond extract instead of lemon, 2 tbsp. honey instead of the molasses, regular shortening instead of butter flavored, and an extra half cup of flour. I also make 24 rolls instead of 12 and they came out a really good size. If you only made 12, they would be pretty big, but a good size if you wanted to make sandwiches. 24 makes a nicely sized dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States