Diana's Hawaiian Bread Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I have made these dozens of times and am always asked for the recipe. I took the advice of others and use all honey, substitute almond extract for the lemon, and up the flour to 5 cups. I also prefer raw sugar to white. But the dough is easy to work with and so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Yummy! I made these w/o the lemon extract because I didn't have any and just added more honey. Delicious! I usually buy these rolls at the store but I think these taste better and my kids loved them, too! Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
These rolls are absolutely wonderful! They are very simple to make, and as one reviewer said, they even freeze well. The best way to do this is to roll up your 18 pieces or so of dough (only making 12 made them very dense and the middles never seemed to get done while the outside was too done), place them on a baking sheet in the freezer for 1-2 hours. Then place in a freezer bag and place back into the freezer until you need them. I use 2 tsp of vanilla and no lemon extract, and I use 2 tblsp honey and no molasses. Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
These rolls were very good. I followed the recipe as stated except that I replaced some of the white flour with one cup of whole wheat flour. I omitted the lemon extract and used honey instead of molasses. I only added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla and I used butter instead of shortening. I made 27 dinner rolls instead of 12. Will definitely be making these again with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
too much lemon..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This is an excellent Hawaiian bread recipe with some tweaking. I omitted the molasses and used 2 TBSP honey, real butter instead of shortening, and used a splash of lemon juice instead of the extract. I've also made it without any lemon or vanilla and honestly it doesn't need either one. I make a 9x13 pan full of rolls instead of the huge dozen originally called for. The honey keeps the rolls moist for a long time. I'm going ahead and giving this recipe 5 stars based on the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I cut back on the lemon extract and it still smelled and had a lemon after taste.I was not happy with how this turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Crockett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Huge rolls. The lemon extract was little much for my family. Will reduce the amount and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Have never made rolls with my bread machine before and WOW, these were a great first try! The dough came out Perfect! Light, fluffy, not sticky. Super Easy to make. I used 2T honey and no molasses as others suggested, may try less lemon next time. The last time I had Hawaiian bread was my honeymoon 4 1/2 years ago, and while these don't taste exactly like a remember (I seem to recall it being just a bit sweeter) these were absolutely delicious. Serving with Kalua pig in the slow cooker from this site tonight with dinner. YUMMY! I'd say well worth the effort, but there's really so little effort involved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
These are absolutely delicious. My family loves them. I like a tiny bit less lemon, but they're great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States