Diana's Hawaiian Bread Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This IS a wonderful recipe. I didn't have Lemon Extract, so left that out, and subsituted butter flavored shortening with 2 Tablespoons olive oil. This recipe definitely needs 1 - 1.5 cups (extra) flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
These rolls were okay. They did not come out as sweet as I had hoped. I did omit the molasses and lemon though. They were also a bit more dense than I typically like. I used them with the kalua pig in slow cooker recipe from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Half way through making this I discovered that I was out of lemon extract, so I used fresh lemon juice instead. The rolls came out beautifully. They looked great, smelled great, and tasted fabulous. The bread had a perfect texture. Will definitely make these again! Thanks for sharing a great, and easy to make, recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This was pretty good. I substituted one cup whole wheat flour for some of the bread flour. You'll probably need about 1 c more flour when kneading. I used 2 T of vanilla instead of 1T of lemon extract. If it didn't taste like the Hawaiian bread, it was probably my fault. Made more than 12 rolls, filled my cookie sheet. I baked for 20 minutes and could have probably used up to 5 more minutes. It was done, but they probably would have been brown if I left them in longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These were absolutely delicious!!!! I made them for my family at our Christmas dinner and they were a big hit! I couldn't quit snacking on them either. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was an enjoyable find. I also added a teaspoon of pineapple flavoring. I used buttermilk instead of water. This made 3 smaller loaves and was nice and tender and had lots of flavor. My company said this was wonderful and even better than the boughten Hawaiian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This was great, my kids loved it. My husband described the taste like a big soft marshmellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Excellent rolls! I did adjust the lemon extract to 1/2 teaspoon, added 1/2 teaspoon almond extract, and replaced the molasses with more honey. I also added 1/8 cup more flour because the first batch of dough was sticky - this may depend on the humidity in your house. This is definetly a favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
These bread rolls were fantastic!! I used whole wheat flour and decreased the flour by a quarter cup. I made the dough by hand and it didn't get sticky at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
WONDERFUL RECIPE-I made this recipe EXACTLY like the recipe says. I was looking for a Hawaiian bread recipe for my daughters bridal shower as we had a Hawaiian theme. I tried a few recipes from this site and this is by far the BEST recipe that I tried. The rolls were WONDERFUL-now I make these whenever I cook a ham-I have even added this to my holiday menu. I read some of the reviews today and will be trying almond extract to see what that tastes like. Thanks Diana for a absolutely wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States