Diana's Hawaiian Bread Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Very yummy! The dough is pretty sticky so I used some extra flour to keep it from sticking too much. I melted butter & brushed it on the rolls when I pulled them out of the oven. I also took some of the other reviewer's advice & subed the lemon extract for extra vanilla. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I cannot believe all of the 5-star ratings on this recipe--it's SO BAD! I'm sorry, I rarely ever give anything below a 3, but these are just *that* bad ... I followed the recipe, except that I didn't have molasses, so I used more honey ... they were absolutely beautiful when they came out of the oven, and they smelled heavenly ... we couldn't wait to sit down to them! But, OMG, when you bit into them ... all we could taste was lemon extract ... We both think these would have been yummy without that extract, so I am going to try them again without it ... thanks for the recipe, but, I'm sorry ... this was just bad. **I made the recipe w/o the lemon extract, and the rolls were GREAT ... I used honey in place of the molasses, as I did before, and I used 2 T. white sugar/3 T. dark brown sugar ... I also got to looking over the reviews, and I noticed that almost all of the 5-star reviews had left the lemon extract out for one reason or another ... I HIGHLY recommend you do the same! :)**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This IS a wonderful recipe. I didn't have Lemon Extract, so left that out, and subsituted butter flavored shortening with 2 Tablespoons olive oil. This recipe definitely needs 1 - 1.5 cups (extra) flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
These rolls were okay. They did not come out as sweet as I had hoped. I did omit the molasses and lemon though. They were also a bit more dense than I typically like. I used them with the kalua pig in slow cooker recipe from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Half way through making this I discovered that I was out of lemon extract, so I used fresh lemon juice instead. The rolls came out beautifully. They looked great, smelled great, and tasted fabulous. The bread had a perfect texture. Will definitely make these again! Thanks for sharing a great, and easy to make, recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This was pretty good. I substituted one cup whole wheat flour for some of the bread flour. You'll probably need about 1 c more flour when kneading. I used 2 T of vanilla instead of 1T of lemon extract. If it didn't taste like the Hawaiian bread, it was probably my fault. Made more than 12 rolls, filled my cookie sheet. I baked for 20 minutes and could have probably used up to 5 more minutes. It was done, but they probably would have been brown if I left them in longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These were absolutely delicious!!!! I made them for my family at our Christmas dinner and they were a big hit! I couldn't quit snacking on them either. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was an enjoyable find. I also added a teaspoon of pineapple flavoring. I used buttermilk instead of water. This made 3 smaller loaves and was nice and tender and had lots of flavor. My company said this was wonderful and even better than the boughten Hawaiian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This was great, my kids loved it. My husband described the taste like a big soft marshmellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Excellent rolls! I did adjust the lemon extract to 1/2 teaspoon, added 1/2 teaspoon almond extract, and replaced the molasses with more honey. I also added 1/8 cup more flour because the first batch of dough was sticky - this may depend on the humidity in your house. This is definetly a favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States