Diana's Hawaiian Bread Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
not as light or sweet as I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pstry8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
The lemon extract gave these rolls a very odd flavor. I did not like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Pretty good, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
These Hawaiian bread rolls are now a favorite at our house. The combination of the unique ingredients provides a refreshing and tasty new recipe for rolls, different than any others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This recipe was great and really good for a beginner in breadmaking. However, with it being a recipe for a bread machine - a beginner might not know what to do with the ingredients. I didn't know how long to let it rise for since I made mine by hand. I did the 40 minutes in the pan but they didn't rise at all! I had to put them in the oven at 150 for 25 minutes so they would get big before baking. I used butter instead of shortening, milk instead of dry milk and only did 3 tbs of (brown) sugar instead of the 5 and they were perfect! Have made them twice so far with zero disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mydnight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Excellent recipe. Everybody LOVED them. I don't have a bread machine, so I made this the old fashioned way. I also used regular milk instead of dry milk and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This doesn't really taste like King's Hawaiian bread, but it was good. It's not as sweet as I normally like it but still good. Definitely leave out the lemon extract as other reviewers suggested, and you'll probably need an extra 1/2 cup of flour to mix with the dough. Then you'll need about another extra 1/2 cup while forming the rolls. This dough is VERY sticky! Also these rolls dry out quickly if you overbake, so I'd recommend baking at 325F for ~15 minutes depending on your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Very yummy! The dough is pretty sticky so I used some extra flour to keep it from sticking too much. I melted butter & brushed it on the rolls when I pulled them out of the oven. I also took some of the other reviewer's advice & subed the lemon extract for extra vanilla. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I cannot believe all of the 5-star ratings on this recipe--it's SO BAD! I'm sorry, I rarely ever give anything below a 3, but these are just *that* bad ... I followed the recipe, except that I didn't have molasses, so I used more honey ... they were absolutely beautiful when they came out of the oven, and they smelled heavenly ... we couldn't wait to sit down to them! But, OMG, when you bit into them ... all we could taste was lemon extract ... We both think these would have been yummy without that extract, so I am going to try them again without it ... thanks for the recipe, but, I'm sorry ... this was just bad. **I made the recipe w/o the lemon extract, and the rolls were GREAT ... I used honey in place of the molasses, as I did before, and I used 2 T. white sugar/3 T. dark brown sugar ... I also got to looking over the reviews, and I noticed that almost all of the 5-star reviews had left the lemon extract out for one reason or another ... I HIGHLY recommend you do the same! :)**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States