Diana's Hawaiian Bread Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Like others I used almond extract instead of the lemon and substituted extra honey for the molasses. Sometimes I use butter instead of shortening.I really like these rolls. The dough is super sticky but totally worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
These rolls were amazing. AMAZING. I don't use dried milk powder, so I used warm milk instead of the water & skipped the molasses in favor of 2 T honey. I used real butter also. I try not to use chemicals when I cook. It was hard not to eat the entire pan of rolls when they came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
As it stands, this is 4 stars. With a few changes, 5 stars, easily! I cut the water back to 1 1/4 cups, used only vanilla extract, and used 2 Tb of honey and no molasses. Before I put them in the oven, I brushed them with a beaten egg. They come out fantastic every time- they're actually even more delicious the next day! I usually get 18-24 dinner-size rolls from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alishadawn30
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
These rolls are fantastic! I have a Breville bread machine. They were so easy to make. I didn't have lemon extract and I used real butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
These didn't taste quite like the hawaiian rolls I get at the store, but they are amazingly good! The store bought ones are just a tad sweeter. Nonetheless, my family loved them! I made them into 12 rolls, and they were great for sandwiches. I did omit the lemon extract - all the reviews scared me! Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
These were fun to make, but like some of the other reviewers remarked, the lemon extract was far too strong. It's all we could taste or smell. I would substitute it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I can not believe there was one comment that actually said it was good but the truth is it just tastes like your eating lemon extract that is on a bagel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I took the suggestions of other reviewers and left out the lemon and added honey in the place of molasses. Great rolls! I am certain I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
We LOVE these rolls! As others stated, I substituted either more vanilla or almond extract for the lemon. I sub'ed honey for the molassis & I sub'ed softened butter for the butter flavored shortening. I also use 5 cups of flour. I've done these w/ all-purpose flour & they worked out great! I have made these so many times for ourselves and I took some to my parents house last weekend & they loved them so much they want me to make them for next Thanksgiving! While doing too many things at one time I started some a little while ago and accidently hit basic bread instead of dough. After the 1 hr. 20 m. I took some dough out and formed rolls & I'm going to let the other make a loaf. Hopefully it will work out. I'm so absentminded!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I am soooo sorry.. I had high hopes for this recipe. The only thing I substituted was the honey for molasses, everything else was the same. I have never tried Hawaiian bread before so I can't compare it, all I know is that these were way too sweet to be a dinner roll and 3 out of the 4 kids who tried it didn't even finish the first bite. Everyone threw out their rolls and went without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States