Diana's Hawaiian Bread Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I was expecting a sweet bread like a kings Hawaiian roll. This just tasted like a plain roll. I think this is a good base recipe to start with, but it needs more sugar. As other reviewers said, leave out the lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I made these rolls for a pot luck. I did some substitutions using honey instead of molasses, cutting white sugar to 2 Tbls and adding 3 Tbls brown sugar, and I used 2 Tbls butter instead of shortening. I can't see where the lemon extract would add anything to the flavor, so I didn't add it. I see where some reviewers did some changes too. These were very tasty with my additions deletions. I will make them frequently when I need a good roll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
These were really good but didn't taste like hawaiian bread. They would be fine most of the time but I was really craving the real sweet Hawaian bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raytown, Missouri, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I have been using this recipe for about a year. It's a hit with my family and friends. I don't care to purchase bread and prepackaged items from the store. I prefer to make things from scratch. I don't keep lemon extract in my pantry, but I always have fresh lemon juice. Fresh lemon juice works great if you don't have lemon extract. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
these sucked bad, and they got hard as a rock in two days time i wont be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay@Home.Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
These rolls have become our new holiday dinner roll request for the last 3 holiday seasons- and my guess is they won't ever be replaced! The only change (as others have noted) is less lemon. HOORAH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Made these for Easter dinner in my Kitchen Aid Mixer, worked well, I to sub'd more honey for the molasses, and mine took a bit more flour. Made all the rolls I needed for dinner then made larger, flatter, "sandwich" rolls for the leftover ham YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My boyfriend just got me a bread maker and I made these for him about a month ago. Since then, I have had to make them 8 times. They are the bomb!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Like others I used almond extract instead of the lemon and substituted extra honey for the molasses. Sometimes I use butter instead of shortening.I really like these rolls. The dough is super sticky but totally worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
These rolls were amazing. AMAZING. I don't use dried milk powder, so I used warm milk instead of the water & skipped the molasses in favor of 2 T honey. I used real butter also. I try not to use chemicals when I cook. It was hard not to eat the entire pan of rolls when they came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States