Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake with Guinness Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This cake is yummy. The cake isn't very sweet but the icing brings the sweetness in. Loved the dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by njohns19
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This is toward the top of my list of best chocolate cakes I've ever experienced. It's dense and moist, but not visibly (I can't actually *see* the butter, if that makes sense). I will probably be making and re-making this frosting until I'm very, very old. SO good. Using what I had, I went for: salted butter, Deschutes Obsidian, sour cream instead of creme fraiche, and two 3.5oz 70% chocolate bars. I didn't use extra fine sugar. I didn't have 9inch rounds, so I used 3 8inch-- which took 35 minutes in a convection type oven. The egg/sour cream/flour stage got real weird (I had to run to the grocery store mid mix-- that could have done it) and became almost like bread dough. It thinned down with the chocolate and was fine. I let everything cool completely and chilled the frosting in the refrigerator (it didn't require any extra or less powdered sugar for me), and the cake didn't even shed any crumbs when I spread the frosting. Ugh. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njohns19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barbara
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
super yummy - it does have a little banana taste :-) don't know where that comes from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbara
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I used this frosting with a different cake because I didn't have creme fraiche or superfine sugar. best frosting I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
My cake came out a little crumbly but those crumbs are so moist and delicious. I tried cutting the amount of butter and used a chocolate stout so maybe the decreased fat made my cake fall apart. But it's so good me & the family don' even care. I didn't even frost this cake it's so good on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
The cake was very tasty, although very dense. The following day it had the consistency of very dense brownies rather than cake. But it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Not too rich, very tasty. My friends and I all tasted banana for some reason? Maybe its in the Guinness. I ended up with probably twice as much icing as I could fit on the cake, I will cut the icing recipe in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
The cake is a 5 star cake. I had to knock the frosting down a bit tho, thus the 4 star rating. The only thing I changed was to make cupcakes, but other than that I made this cake EXACTLY as instructed, and I made the frosting EXACTLY as instructed. I'm NOT a beginner cook, and I've taken cake decorating classes before. The problem I had was w/ the frosting. It was the right consistency for a filling, but not for piping work. I ended up using the frosting to fill my cupcakes, but a different recipe to frost them. It's an amazing from scratch cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I seriously questioned the unusual execution of this recipe but I followed through and was rewarded with a rich and buttery, light chocolate cake. I was so hesitant to make the beer infused frosting that I played it safe and didn't. (Besides, I wanted a white frosting to show off the green and gold Packer colors for our big playoff game tonight!) But I will be the first to admit that this is so light chocolate that it would have been better with a rich chocolate frosting, even if the one included in this recipe isn't used. Recipe notes: I did use Guiness, ordinary table sugar rather than superfine, which really isn't necessary, and sour cream rather than the pricier creme fraiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Pretty good. I had hoped for a bit more stout flavor, but it's a pretty good end result. I used buttermilk in place of creme fraiche (didn't have any), and I subbed Whey Low for the sugar. A couple of reviewers mentioned the cake was dense, so I added a teaspoon of baking powder to the batter. That did the trick. The cake was light and fluffy. I cut the recipe in half, and it made 12 cupcakes. The icing is just a little too sweet for me. I added a tablespoon of espresso powder, and that helped. The family loved them, so it's a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States