Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake with Guinness Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
The cake is a 5 star cake. I had to knock the frosting down a bit tho, thus the 4 star rating. The only thing I changed was to make cupcakes, but other than that I made this cake EXACTLY as instructed, and I made the frosting EXACTLY as instructed. I'm NOT a beginner cook, and I've taken cake decorating classes before. The problem I had was w/ the frosting. It was the right consistency for a filling, but not for piping work. I ended up using the frosting to fill my cupcakes, but a different recipe to frost them. It's an amazing from scratch cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This cake is yummy. The cake isn't very sweet but the icing brings the sweetness in. Loved the dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Not too rich, very tasty. My friends and I all tasted banana for some reason? Maybe its in the Guinness. I ended up with probably twice as much icing as I could fit on the cake, I will cut the icing recipe in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I used this frosting with a different cake because I didn't have creme fraiche or superfine sugar. best frosting I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barbara
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
super yummy - it does have a little banana taste :-) don't know where that comes from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbara
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
My cake came out a little crumbly but those crumbs are so moist and delicious. I tried cutting the amount of butter and used a chocolate stout so maybe the decreased fat made my cake fall apart. But it's so good me & the family don' even care. I didn't even frost this cake it's so good on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
The cake was very tasty, although very dense. The following day it had the consistency of very dense brownies rather than cake. But it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was the ugliest cake I've ever made--it fell apart when I took it out of the pans and crumbled like crazy! I used a lot of icing as glue to piece it together; it really looked a mess. The TASTE, however, is quite another matter. It was delicious! I LOVED the icing (best chocolate icing EVER and I will use it ever after) and the cake is really rich and chocolatey. I would try it again and hope for better results next time as far as the appearance, but my family has really enjoyed eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
When I beat the flour mixture together, it immediately clumped up like bread dough. Putting the rest of the wet ingredients in that point didnt help. I've made very few cakes from scratch, but it sure seemed like something was off here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I seriously questioned the unusual execution of this recipe but I followed through and was rewarded with a rich and buttery, light chocolate cake. I was so hesitant to make the beer infused frosting that I played it safe and didn't. (Besides, I wanted a white frosting to show off the green and gold Packer colors for our big playoff game tonight!) But I will be the first to admit that this is so light chocolate that it would have been better with a rich chocolate frosting, even if the one included in this recipe isn't used. Recipe notes: I did use Guiness, ordinary table sugar rather than superfine, which really isn't necessary, and sour cream rather than the pricier creme fraiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States