Devouring Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This cookie has a chewy, rustic texture. It’s not too sweet and bakes up attractively, nice and round. I had no issues with the cookie flattening although, as I always do with a butter-based cookie dough, I chilled the dough until somewhat firm before baking. I substituted cinnamon chips for the chocolate chips and, truth be told, I prefer them here as the combination of chocolate and cinnamon never much appealed to me. Hubs and I both agree, however, that the cookie was a little heavy on the chips and on the oats. I’m thinking less oats (or a little more flour) and maybe even a tad more sugar would make these softer and a little more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Adrienne
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Awesome cookie recipe!! Didn't change a thing, very quick and easy to make!! Thank you, will be a family staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Don't change a thing! Easy cookie recipe the kids will devour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MatanteG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grande Pointe, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Standard, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as directed and every single person who had one wanted more. I used sweet creamery butter since the recipe has both salt and baking soda and I didn't want the cookies to be too salty. The cinnamon really gives it a depth of character other oatmeal cookies just don't have. These cookies are soft, chewy and just delicious. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eidiliat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
The balance of sugar and oats is just right in this recipe; however, they turned out to be just a bit too crunchy at 375 for 9 minutes. I turned the oven down to 350, baked them for 8 minutes, and they were PERFECT - very lightly toasted around the edges and soft and chewy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Perfect. I'm a very novice baker and these still turned out great! Don't forget the pinch of salt since it is listed in the ingredients but not in the directions. I didn't change anything in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
So good. I didn't have any chocolate chips, so I stirred in 2 tablespoons of peanut butter. I will makes these again and keep trying different variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Awesome cookies! Made lots of different recipes in the past and this one is by far the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I cut out the white sugar and substituted the butter for a cup of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I made a few changes to this recipe and they made me feel a little better about how many I'm sure to eat! I halved the recipe and used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose. I also added flax seeds to the sifted dry ingredients before adding them to the butter mixture. The combination of those two changes and the old-fashioned oats makes these a delicious, healthier treat (and you can't taste anything strange--in fact, the seeds add a yummy nutty flavor that goes well with the cinnamon). I also baked them at 350 for about 10 mins, and flattened them a bit before putting them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States