Devouring Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This cookie has a chewy, rustic texture. It’s not too sweet and bakes up attractively, nice and round. I had no issues with the cookie flattening although, as I always do with a butter-based cookie dough, I chilled the dough until somewhat firm before baking. I substituted cinnamon chips for the chocolate chips and, truth be told, I prefer them here as the combination of chocolate and cinnamon never much appealed to me. Hubs and I both agree, however, that the cookie was a little heavy on the chips and on the oats. I’m thinking less oats (or a little more flour) and maybe even a tad more sugar would make these softer and a little more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Adrienne
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Awesome cookie recipe!! Didn't change a thing, very quick and easy to make!! Thank you, will be a family staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Don't change a thing! Easy cookie recipe the kids will devour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MatanteG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grande Pointe, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Standard, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
The balance of sugar and oats is just right in this recipe; however, they turned out to be just a bit too crunchy at 375 for 9 minutes. I turned the oven down to 350, baked them for 8 minutes, and they were PERFECT - very lightly toasted around the edges and soft and chewy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as directed and every single person who had one wanted more. I used sweet creamery butter since the recipe has both salt and baking soda and I didn't want the cookies to be too salty. The cinnamon really gives it a depth of character other oatmeal cookies just don't have. These cookies are soft, chewy and just delicious. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eidiliat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Perfect. I'm a very novice baker and these still turned out great! Don't forget the pinch of salt since it is listed in the ingredients but not in the directions. I didn't change anything in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna Rose

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maddiematters
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
My family kind of whined when I said I was making oatmeal cookies but as soon as they took a bite they each grabbed another cookie! I made exactly as written except just a few less chocolate chips. I halved the recipe and it made about 13 jumbo sized cookies. I would make little smaller next time as it bakes it into a flat cookie. Mine too was crispy around the edges - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
So good. I didn't have any chocolate chips, so I stirred in 2 tablespoons of peanut butter. I will makes these again and keep trying different variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Awesome cookies! Made lots of different recipes in the past and this one is by far the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I cut out the white sugar and substituted the butter for a cup of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chef John's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate chip cookies that are the best of both cookie worlds, crispy and chewy.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States