Devils on Horseback Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
These are awesome!! I had these back in the 80's when I was stationed in Bermuda. Feel free to substitute walnuts for the almonds, apricots for the dates, I've even used smoked oysters and sliced water chestnuts wrapped with the bacon ... limitless combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I made these today with smokehouse almonds, figs, low sodium bacon, and brown sugar (I forgot to buy soy sauce and ginger). I also sprinkled them with red pepper flakes after they were in the cake pan, because I wanted them to have some kick (they are devils, after all). They take a little while to put together, but they cook up quickly, and they're REALLY good. My buddy who was over to watch football loved them, as did my girlfriend's buddy who was over to get her hair done. If you want something tasty and impressive, and you don't mind taking a little time to make them, these are awesome. I think I'm gonna make a super spicy batch for Halloween. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
eh, so-so...not fantastic...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy McD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
What a hit! I served these at my annual Halloween bash and they were enjoyed by everyone! My husband was a sceptic at first but had said he enjoyed them too. I'm glad I doubled the recipe! I had four requests for this recipe. Thank you for the great recipe swedishmilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Made these for Thanksgiving appetizers, everyone loved them, couldn't get enough. Impressive yet easy to make. I wonder if you could assemble them the night before and cook the next day just before serving, they are better when warm. Thank you>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was a hit! We demolished them in about 2 seconds. Everybody wanted more. Only thing I would suggest don't do to much brown sugar. This was a easy quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smith711

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Had these for New Years Eve and they were gone in seconds! Wish I had made more! Excellent just the way they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Very delicious! Loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Takes some work, so I recommend tripling the recipe. You won't be disappointed. FANTASTIC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCSHELLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
These were simple to make and fantastic!! Everyone loved them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Effingham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Devil's Dentures

Turn ripe red apples into spooky, spiky, mangle-mouthed dentures.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States