Devil's Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
This is a great cake.....one I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
This was a great cake! The Chocolate Fudge Buttercream Frosting went really well and the whole thing was devoured by three people in only two days! Try filling with the frosting or hot fudge topping--both are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
So fast and easy! And it worked great in my first-ever cake, a 4-layer chocolate cake with chocolate fudge frosting. Everyone I gave some to absolutely adored it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
This cake was really fun to make! I have an electric mixer and it was pretty easy. I enjoyed watching the yolks and water turn from half-transperant to custard yellow. The mixture was so pretty! I had a really good time baking. The finished product was very yummy too! Thumbs up! ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
This recipe is good, but not outstanding. I wouldn't say it has the "pound cake like texture," but rather a regular chocolate cake texture. The recipe is good, though because all ingredients are generally on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
This cake is fabulous. I made it for the Almond Joy Cake, and it was over-the-top great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
I don't know if italian baking soda (sodium bicarbonate) is different from the american one but it gave the cake the most awful flavour. i'll try to make the cake with baking powder instead.... But the result this time was very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manuela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Great recipe! I overcooked one of the halves a little bit but the other one was moist and delicious. Overall excellent, and would have been perfect if I hadn't overdone it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
This was the best cake I've ever made! It was a big hit for my daughter's birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
The cake was very good. It had a great chocolate flavor. It was very moist and stayed good a long time--I made it Wednesday and it was still good on Saturday. I'd definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States