Devil's Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
A little time consuming to put together. Didn't come out right at all. After the time for baking was over, it was still raw in the middle. Sank in the middle as well. Didn't even taste chocolaty. I made this recipe twice and still had the same disappointing results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
this cake is pretty good--it has a good flavor and a nice texture. I did however add 8 oz of chocolate (instead of 3) and replaced the water with milk. I also replaced half of the butter with applesauce (this reduces the fat and makes cakes moist). i filled it with buttercream frosting and topped it with chocolate ganache from this site. a good basic chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Very tasty, dense cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This was one of the best chocolate cakes I've made yet! It was unanimous that everyone loved it(which is rare!). Absolutely no taste of vinegar whatsoever. I also used bitter-sweet chocolate, and cut back 1/2 cup off the sugar. Turned out sooo great! thanks sooo much for this awesome recipe!I used the satiny glaze on it...beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Yummy! Moist but not overly so. I would like to try it with a different frosting next time. It was probably my fault, but the frosting was way too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I have to say this was very likely the best devil's food cake I have ever baked and eaten. Moist, loved the texture. I added about 1 tsp of vanilla, and baked it in two 8" round pans. Turned out nice and high. Perfect chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Eh.. I found them as tasting o.k. The texture wasn't that great and I felt that it didn't taste as much like chocolate as it should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This cake was amazing! Tasted great & was moist all the way through. I'll definitely be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
very moist good cake, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I made this cake for my mother-in-law's birthday and frosted it with Snow Peak Frosting. This was a great combination. I made the cake the day before and it was good and moist the next day when I served it. It smells incredible when it is baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States