Devil's Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I did not understand this recipe and that might have been why it came out tasting very unusual and my family personaly disliked it...also maybe the cocoa powder i used was wrong or old because it formed little balls still in the cake after i baked it. They tasted hard. Sorry but not using this recipe again. But as I said you can try it I may have made it incorrectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Awesome cake recipe. Made it for someone's b-day and everyone loved it. I used 4oz's of unsweetened chocolate because I love chocolate....turned out great!! I'm sure 3oz's would be fine though. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Loved this cake. Perfect texture. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
great cake, i didn't wait until it was cold to cut it and it crumble a bit and i'm glad it did cause i nibbled all the crumbs :P . i also come from Italy and the taste was just fine, no baking soda problems, maybe Manuela didn't put enough vinegar. I made sure i had the exact amount of soda and vinegar weighted and measured to a T. EDIT:I used the filling from "Eclairs II" and toped it with chocolate and syruped cherries.It was to die for.Hubby and myself ate it alone cause we didn't wanna share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buzau, Buzau, Romania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Excellent recipe! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Not my particular favorite, but my dad loved it as his 50th birthday cake! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
A little time consuming to put together. Didn't come out right at all. After the time for baking was over, it was still raw in the middle. Sank in the middle as well. Didn't even taste chocolaty. I made this recipe twice and still had the same disappointing results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
this cake is pretty good--it has a good flavor and a nice texture. I did however add 8 oz of chocolate (instead of 3) and replaced the water with milk. I also replaced half of the butter with applesauce (this reduces the fat and makes cakes moist). i filled it with buttercream frosting and topped it with chocolate ganache from this site. a good basic chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Very tasty, dense cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This was one of the best chocolate cakes I've made yet! It was unanimous that everyone loved it(which is rare!). Absolutely no taste of vinegar whatsoever. I also used bitter-sweet chocolate, and cut back 1/2 cup off the sugar. Turned out sooo great! thanks sooo much for this awesome recipe!I used the satiny glaze on it...beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States