Devil's Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
It was very good and easy to make. I heated up the chocolate and butter in the microwave in a small pyrex bowl. I always do this because it is quciker and easier than using a double boiler. I also used German chocolate cake style icing for it. It was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Tasty, moist, and relatively easy to make. It is a bit of a fussy cake as it has to be cooked at the correct temperature and time and if not the center can get a bit droopy. I used two 9 inch pans and it took me 30 minutes to bake it completely. Made this for a friend's birthday party and iced it with the Rich Chocolate Frosting and it was absolutely devoured. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary Jane Winstead

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Great Cake! Very easy, baked perfectly - moist and light and wonderful chocolate flavor. I used brewed coffee (no instant on hand). I also was out of chocolate squares, so subbed 1/2 and 1/2 Hershey's Regular and Special Dark coco then added veg. shortening to the butter per Hershey's directions for subbing dry coco. Used a basic butter cream frosting and cake recieved many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Fantastic dense chocolaty cake! Wouldn't change a thing! Those who had trouble....make sure your baking soda is fresh. If you are making in a glass 9x13 pan, you will need 35-40 minutes to cook through the middle. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This one is a keeper! I made this for an early Father's Day cake and it was a huge hit. The cake was incredibly moist (I'm a little paranoid about dry cake so I did use a little simple syrup brushed on the cake just to make sure). I frosted with a buttercream and it was absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Very good. You have to be careful to fully cook or the center does flop quite easily. My second attempt turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Fresz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
made this last night and it was'nt as dark as the one in the picture it was also quite dry i don't know if i cooked it for to long. I will try again this time i'll add more chocolate as i did'nt think it was chocolatey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khadz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Although this isn't the absolute best devil's food chocolate cake I've ever had, it's the best one I've personally ever MADE! Lots of the recipes on this site gave me chocolate cake that looked lighter in color and didn't have that deep chocolate flavor I was looking for. This one was really good with tweaking that I did from others' advice. I found this a TAD dry, but it could've been from how I baked it. I made mini cupcakes with this baked at 350 degrees for 15 minutes...i suspect i should've baked them for maybe 12 or 13 minutes. Also, I added 1/2 tsp of instant coffee granules and 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract to the warm butter/chocolate mixture and used a few tablespoons of bittersweet chocolate chunks. To make it even EXTRA chocolatey I took the advice to add 1/4 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder to the dry mix. I'm hoping this turns out even better next time I make it cuz that would be to die for! And oh yeah, i topped this with a dollop of cream cheese frosting. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DVINEGRACE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Fantastic! At the suggestion of other reviews, I frosted with Chocolate Fudge Butter Cream Frosting, on this site. What a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifeyJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Best chocolate cake! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States