Devil's Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Substituted coffee for water and buttermilk for milk+vinegar. Made in ring pan; took about 45 mins.... Great cake -- good texture and flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
After reading all the reviews, I decided to make this cake because my family is crazy about chocolate cake. They do have a lesser sweet tooth and need to monitor their cholestorol. I doctored the recipe to: only 1 1/4 cup of sugar, 5/8 cup of cocoa powder instead of chocolate, and 1/2 cup vegetable oil instead of butter. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 Tbsp of instant coffee. Worrying the cake may be dry due to the reduction in sugar, I added 1.5 Tbp corn starch since I read pudding mix is basically corn starch and many recipes have pudding mix in them to add moistrue. I baked the cake in two 8" square pans, one metal and one glass for 25 minutes. The one in glass comes out super moist, and the metal one less so but still good. Actually my daughter prefers the less moist one. My family devoured the whole thing in 2 days. I have a feeling this would become a family tradition to bake this cake whenever someone has a craving for chocolaty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I have made this cake twice. First time I had no chocolate so i used 100gm of unsweetened cocoa powder...just desolved it in the melted butter. I was surprised at the results...wow....it was my best chocolate cake ever! Second time I used recommended 84gm chocolate and I was a bit dissapointed as the texture was different..it seemed heavier and too dense as compared to the light and fluffy one I made first. So..the moral of the story is!.give the cocoa a shot! It worked better for me...just a delicious cake. Awesome recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
It was very good and easy to make. I heated up the chocolate and butter in the microwave in a small pyrex bowl. I always do this because it is quciker and easier than using a double boiler. I also used German chocolate cake style icing for it. It was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Tasty, moist, and relatively easy to make. It is a bit of a fussy cake as it has to be cooked at the correct temperature and time and if not the center can get a bit droopy. I used two 9 inch pans and it took me 30 minutes to bake it completely. Made this for a friend's birthday party and iced it with the Rich Chocolate Frosting and it was absolutely devoured. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panajane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Great Cake! Very easy, baked perfectly - moist and light and wonderful chocolate flavor. I used brewed coffee (no instant on hand). I also was out of chocolate squares, so subbed 1/2 and 1/2 Hershey's Regular and Special Dark coco then added veg. shortening to the butter per Hershey's directions for subbing dry coco. Used a basic butter cream frosting and cake recieved many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Fantastic dense chocolaty cake! Wouldn't change a thing! Those who had trouble....make sure your baking soda is fresh. If you are making in a glass 9x13 pan, you will need 35-40 minutes to cook through the middle. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This one is a keeper! I made this for an early Father's Day cake and it was a huge hit. The cake was incredibly moist (I'm a little paranoid about dry cake so I did use a little simple syrup brushed on the cake just to make sure). I frosted with a buttercream and it was absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Very good. You have to be careful to fully cook or the center does flop quite easily. My second attempt turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
made this last night and it was'nt as dark as the one in the picture it was also quite dry i don't know if i cooked it for to long. I will try again this time i'll add more chocolate as i did'nt think it was chocolatey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khadz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States