Devil's Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by mnmspencer
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
moist... not sure I love the flavor of this cake.. or maybe I am just used to the boxed devils food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnmspencer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This is a great recipe. I poured chocolate ganache over each layer of 2 9in round cakes. Then on top of each layer I placed fresh raspberries. Soooooo Goooood!!!!! You could use strawberries as well. Oh, on the first layer I sliced the raspberries in half but left them whole on top of the cake so it looked nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is THE worst Devil's Food recipe I've ever tried. Not very chocolaty at all, more like red velvet without the dye! Also extremely dry even though I took it out of the oven several minutes before the recommended time. I made this for my husband's birthday and we ended up throwing it away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
As good or better than any chocolate cake I ever had. Batter was smooth and creamy after beating and it rose nicley. Most importantly I got estatic praises from my 5 year old! It was easy to make and SO RICH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
The cake is amazing!! It took a little longer to bake, but that may have been a problem with my oven. I made it for a birthday on Thanksgiving with cream cheese frosting andeveyone loved it, even those who didn't like chocolate said they loved the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Mediocre at best. I constantly checked it in the oven to see if it was done, and one minute the toothpick came out wet and the next minute, it was clean but the cake was DRY! Not terrible, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katykat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merrick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Great! Substitued 1/2 cup of flour with chocolate powder, less 1/2 cup of sugar. Made into 3 loaf pans, 12 mini muffins. Will definitely make it again. Thanks. =>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Substituted coffee for water and buttermilk for milk+vinegar. Made in ring pan; took about 45 mins.... Great cake -- good texture and flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
After reading all the reviews, I decided to make this cake because my family is crazy about chocolate cake. They do have a lesser sweet tooth and need to monitor their cholestorol. I doctored the recipe to: only 1 1/4 cup of sugar, 5/8 cup of cocoa powder instead of chocolate, and 1/2 cup vegetable oil instead of butter. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 Tbsp of instant coffee. Worrying the cake may be dry due to the reduction in sugar, I added 1.5 Tbp corn starch since I read pudding mix is basically corn starch and many recipes have pudding mix in them to add moistrue. I baked the cake in two 8" square pans, one metal and one glass for 25 minutes. The one in glass comes out super moist, and the metal one less so but still good. Actually my daughter prefers the less moist one. My family devoured the whole thing in 2 days. I have a feeling this would become a family tradition to bake this cake whenever someone has a craving for chocolaty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I have made this cake twice. First time I had no chocolate so i used 100gm of unsweetened cocoa powder...just desolved it in the melted butter. I was surprised at the results...wow....it was my best chocolate cake ever! Second time I used recommended 84gm chocolate and I was a bit dissapointed as the texture was different..it seemed heavier and too dense as compared to the light and fluffy one I made first. So..the moral of the story is!.give the cocoa a shot! It worked better for me...just a delicious cake. Awesome recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States