Devil's Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
After seeing the high ratings and reading the reviews I thought this was going to be an amazing recipe. I bake a lot and have really good pans that all but guarantee that cakes will turn out. Unfortunately, this one did not. Although I have a pan that distributes heat evenly, i found that the bottom half was starting to become dry before the center was cooked. I finally had to pull it out of the oven. Normally when I read this kind of review I believe the baker did something wrong, but in this case I believe there's something wrong with the recipe. However, the parts that did cook turned out delicious, so I cut the cake in half, cut off the top to make it even, scooped out the uncooked part and made the top the bottom half. I then filled the middle with a mixture of raspberry jam, jello mix and the crumbled remnants of the top of the cake. It turned out quite delicious and didnt waste good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I have to agree with several reviewers on here. You definitely need to add more chocolate (at least eight ounces) and swap the water out with milk. Overall, a great basic chocolate cake, however one that absolutely relies on the frosting. Most cakes are good on their own. This one smells great, but doesn't really deliver that much once eaten. Pick a great frosting and it will be okay. Would I make again? Nah. I'm an avid baker and chocoholic and this did nothing for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this cupcakes to take to a New Years Day Party. I altered the recipe by using coffee instead of water and I added a tsp of vanills. They cooked for exactly 15 min. I filled and frosted them with the Fluffly Peanut Butter icing from this site, then topped with chocolate chips! Everyone at the party loves them! Better than the "Funny Bones" of our childhood. Next time I will try frost them with a layer of chocolate gancache with a peanut butter flourish on top! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I made cupcakes from this recipe, baking them 15-20 minutes or until the tops sprang back and a toothpick came out clean. Previous reviewers commented that their cupcakes sank in the middle - mine didn't but were lovely and puffed on top. Another reviewer also commented that the cake dried out the next day. I kept my cupcakes in a cake keeper (so lightly covered) and they were nice and moist this morning. Hubby did agree with a reviewer who stated that there wasn't much chocolate taste to this recipe, but I thought it was lovely. I didn't frost the cupcakes as we were taste-testing the recipe itself, but chocolate frosting might have changed his mind! Overall, this was a great recipe. I will probably make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
A very finikkie recipe. With the same batter I made a small cake - which turned out great; and 12 cupcakes - which sunk in the middle and looked alful. I won't make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Full, rich flavor! The cake was wonderfully moist, but the next day it had dried out slightly. Otherwise wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
i have these cupcakes in the oven as we speak... i will be rating them as soon as they cool! i did have to make a few changes based on what i had on hand: i didn't have unsweetened chocolate but rather a high quality dark chocolate so i reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup. also, because i have a new, spiffy espresso machine i decided to put 1/2 cup espresso and 1/2 cup hot water (instead of 1 cup hot water). i was a bit confused about the milk/vinegar because the recipe says to combine them first and then put in the batter. should i have let it sit for five minutes to sour? it wasn't mentioned so i didn't do it but i did wonder... :) to be continued... UPDATE: these are good cupcakes, don't get me wrong, but the texture doesn't convince me. i will keep looking and trying other recipes until i find "the one." at the same time i made these i also made "simple white cake" cupcakes (from this site) and i was very impressed! a light, velvety texture... UPDATE (again!): i froze my cupcakes because i had made them a few days in advance, after thawing and frosting them (with chocolate cheese frosting from this site) they were FABULOUS! people couldn't stop raving about them! in the end, after freezing and decorating them i think these were more popular than the simply white cupcakes! so i'm adjusting my score to 5 stars! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Great recipe. The texture was a nice thick cake- not as 'solid' as a pound cake - but for sure not thin feeling like a box mix. You could for sure taste that it was from scratch. I would however add in more chocolate. I like a bit of a more chocolate richness. I will make this again and do a flavored filling to add something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I don't know what happened, but the cake seemed to have exploded in the oven and was all over it when I took it out. It pretty much fell apart when I tried to take it out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Excellent recipe. Dense, moist and lovely looking cake. I baked mine in a bunt pan, turned the heat to 325 and cooked for 50 mins. The only disappointment was the lack of chocolate. I should have heeded the advice of many others and add in the 1/2 C. of Cocoa. Had I have done so I just KNOW it would've been right on the mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordana McLaughlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States