Devil's Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
A very finikkie recipe. With the same batter I made a small cake - which turned out great; and 12 cupcakes - which sunk in the middle and looked alful. I won't make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Full, rich flavor! The cake was wonderfully moist, but the next day it had dried out slightly. Otherwise wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
i have these cupcakes in the oven as we speak... i will be rating them as soon as they cool! i did have to make a few changes based on what i had on hand: i didn't have unsweetened chocolate but rather a high quality dark chocolate so i reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup. also, because i have a new, spiffy espresso machine i decided to put 1/2 cup espresso and 1/2 cup hot water (instead of 1 cup hot water). i was a bit confused about the milk/vinegar because the recipe says to combine them first and then put in the batter. should i have let it sit for five minutes to sour? it wasn't mentioned so i didn't do it but i did wonder... :) to be continued... UPDATE: these are good cupcakes, don't get me wrong, but the texture doesn't convince me. i will keep looking and trying other recipes until i find "the one." at the same time i made these i also made "simple white cake" cupcakes (from this site) and i was very impressed! a light, velvety texture... UPDATE (again!): i froze my cupcakes because i had made them a few days in advance, after thawing and frosting them (with chocolate cheese frosting from this site) they were FABULOUS! people couldn't stop raving about them! in the end, after freezing and decorating them i think these were more popular than the simply white cupcakes! so i'm adjusting my score to 5 stars! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Great recipe. The texture was a nice thick cake- not as 'solid' as a pound cake - but for sure not thin feeling like a box mix. You could for sure taste that it was from scratch. I would however add in more chocolate. I like a bit of a more chocolate richness. I will make this again and do a flavored filling to add something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I don't know what happened, but the cake seemed to have exploded in the oven and was all over it when I took it out. It pretty much fell apart when I tried to take it out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Excellent recipe. Dense, moist and lovely looking cake. I baked mine in a bunt pan, turned the heat to 325 and cooked for 50 mins. The only disappointment was the lack of chocolate. I should have heeded the advice of many others and add in the 1/2 C. of Cocoa. Had I have done so I just KNOW it would've been right on the mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordana McLaughlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mnmspencer
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
moist... not sure I love the flavor of this cake.. or maybe I am just used to the boxed devils food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnmspencer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This is a great recipe. I poured chocolate ganache over each layer of 2 9in round cakes. Then on top of each layer I placed fresh raspberries. Soooooo Goooood!!!!! You could use strawberries as well. Oh, on the first layer I sliced the raspberries in half but left them whole on top of the cake so it looked nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is THE worst Devil's Food recipe I've ever tried. Not very chocolaty at all, more like red velvet without the dye! Also extremely dry even though I took it out of the oven several minutes before the recommended time. I made this for my husband's birthday and we ended up throwing it away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
As good or better than any chocolate cake I ever had. Batter was smooth and creamy after beating and it rose nicley. Most importantly I got estatic praises from my 5 year old! It was easy to make and SO RICH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States