Devil's Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
It came out dry and tasteless. What a huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I used this recipe for cupcakes and they were a complete failure! They overflowed and fell. I have been baking for years and never had this happen with a recipe. May be better if it was a cake instead of cupcakes but not worth how temperamental the batter is and would need more chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I wanted a good, rich, moist, decadent chocolate cake, and with my modifications- AMAZING. I I subbed strong coffee for the water, and buttermilk instead of the milk and vinegar. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Fabulously old school chocolate cake! The negative reviews made me nervous at first, but it turns out beautifully, every time. Strong coffee instead of water, and 2x the chocolate = nom nom nom! It doesn't need frosting, but I'm making it for my daughter's 5th birthday, with pink buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonprovatas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made this cake exactly as stated except I didn't have white vinegar so I used champagne vinegar and the whole thing just fell apart! Even though I made it with top notch chocolate it tasted like mud! It was my first big baking disaster since I made it on Thanksgiving morning to celebrate my nephews birthday and for the second dessert!! What a mess. The next day I used a Williams Sonoma devils food cake recipe with chocolate frosting from their site and redeemed myself. Better late than never!! I cannot imagine that the vinegar was the culprit...but I'll never know because I won't try the recipe again. Just be warned: Don't substitute any other vinegar for the white vinegar if you make this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hobbycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I read several of the reviews before making this and was a little worried but made it anyway. It turned out to be the best I have ever had as far as Devil's Food Cakes. I have save this recipe to use again. I did actually at a tsp of vanilla and I used apple cider vinigar instead of the white vinigar. LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
THANKYOU! This cake is wonderfully easy! It only took me about 10 minutes but I didn't have and eggs, so I googled it and it sayed to substitute milk, so I did. So far, it looks INCREDIBLE, smells EVEN BETTER and I can't wait to taste it on sunday- it's going into a 5-layer cake with 3 layers choc, 2 layer strawberry cheesecake topped off with strawberry icing and chocolate covered strawberries..... Happy birthday mom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieMonster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Wonderful chocolate flavour, very moist and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*Morgan*~
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
As suggested i used one cup coffee to replace water (decaf) and 6 oz of chocolate. With these changes it is 5 stars.. so Good! I also used the recommended frosting from the description. yum yum yum. Make this with these changes and you will not be dis-sastisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Morgan*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Fairfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Portales, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it smelled amazing as it was baking. However, it turned out extremely dry - it crumbled everywhere....needed milk to simply swallow it. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States