Devil's Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
So this cake has now been sitting in the oven for almost an hour, in a 13x9" pan, and the center of it is mucky and wet. The house doesn't smell like chocolate: it smells like burnt popcorn. I followed the recipe to the letter, and I have to say that I'm dreading the results. Not the least bit impressed, especially as I was making it for a birthday party. Would not try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
2 out of 10. Would not recommend. Deflated like a four day old balloon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
just a chocolate cake good, not exellent. I put 1 an half cup of sugar, 2 cup of flour and a quarter of cocoa powder. and to be sure 1 teaps of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yellownynph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I was really excited to make this so I made this batch and I made the cake mix. this recipe my husband said it was ok. but I just didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Definitely repeating this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERRELLHEADRED

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Below average at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I have been looking for a recipe like this one. The cake is moist with a wonderful texture! I will make this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This is just a good, old-fashioned chocolate cake. Medium chocolate, not too dark. Delicious and stick to your fork moist. Lighter in texture with a more open crumb, (NOT the pound cake texture the submitter described), just as a good old-fashioned cake ought to be. Rather than water I substituted brewed coffee (half for me, half for the cake), and buttermilk for the milk and vinegar because I had it on hand to use. I frosted it with my own Chocolate Buttercream, no recipe, just dumped and mixed an egg, powdered sugar, unsweetened cocoa powder, butter, vanilla and heavy cream until it looked right. Not a fancy cake, just a delicious one, the kind Grandma made decades ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This IS the best devil's food cake, truly sinfully Delicious.. and addictive. Rich and moist. Only revision being that I add my vinegar to my milk prior to preparing the rest of my ingredients and I add good 1/4 cup or semi sweet chocolate chips instead of the squares letting it melt into the butter on low temp. then I add 1/4 cocoa powder to the chocolate and let it sit a few mins then carry on as recipe instructs. Oh and It actually takes a good 40- 45 mins to bake at 350 not 30. It is worth the time tho. Very good. I added a Raspberry Filling in the center and a vanilla butter cream icing on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
It came out dry and tasteless. What a huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States