Devil's Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Very good chocolate cake. Very chocolatey, moist and dense. Don't be put off by the vinegar; vinegar + milk = buttermilk, so it's just like using buttermilk in a recipe. I had some trouble with the bottom sticking on one of my layers, but the next time I used a greased parchment circle on the bottom of the pan and it came out nice and clean, no sticking. Give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Turned out great first time! Used my Bundt pan and served plain. Very moist and perfect chocolate flavor. Keeping this in my library.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I whipped this together for my grandchildren and they loved it! I didn't have squares of chocolate, so used 3 TBSP of cocoa with an extra TBSP of butter per square, and instead of the vinegar, I used actual buttermilk. It went together so quickly and it was moist and delicious. I made a cocoa buttercream icing. Wi!ll definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I tried this recipe and i liked it a lot. When i tried it people were asking me the recipe saying the cake was delicious.Its very easy to follow the steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
So this cake has now been sitting in the oven for almost an hour, in a 13x9" pan, and the center of it is mucky and wet. The house doesn't smell like chocolate: it smells like burnt popcorn. I followed the recipe to the letter, and I have to say that I'm dreading the results. Not the least bit impressed, especially as I was making it for a birthday party. Would not try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
2 out of 10. Would not recommend. Deflated like a four day old balloon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
just a chocolate cake good, not exellent. I put 1 an half cup of sugar, 2 cup of flour and a quarter of cocoa powder. and to be sure 1 teaps of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I was really excited to make this so I made this batch and I made the cake mix. this recipe my husband said it was ok. but I just didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Definitely repeating this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERRELLHEADRED

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Below average at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States