Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
This is the classic recipe that I have always used (but with much more salad dressing) and I'm asked to bring them to every family gathering. I do variations some times such as adding crumbled bacon. Here's a tip for making things much quicker, less messy and a little fancier: Mix until creamy. Put it all into a plastic (zip-lock type) storage bag. Seal the top, clip a lower corner to make a hole and squeeze the filling into the egg halves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
400 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
"salad dressing" usually refers to Miracle Whip, not just any random dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I was bored today so I made 4 different recipes for deviled eggs at the same time and had neighbors & friends do a taste test. This one came in 3rd. It was okay, but where it says "salad dressing," that is really open to interpretation. I used lighthouse ranch, and it overpowered the egg. The other recipes in my taste test were "Cajun Deviled Eggs" by Denyse, "Deviled Eggs II" by Mary Brotherton, and "Deviled Eggs" by Margaret Sanders. Margaret's were the unanimous winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Hooray! Nothing fancy,,,This is the classic recipe that my mom and grandma used. You can always add more mustard or dressing to make it the right consistancy. I like to add a small amount of sweet pickle relish to the mixture though...as odd as it sounds, it gives it a little bit of zip. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
So easy and yet so good. Classic picnic food that goes fast. I used dijon mustard and added a little garlic powder. This one's a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
These needed lots more salad dressing and mustard. I also added about 1/2 tsp. of cider vinegar and some horseradish. Crumbled bacon is also good in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Made this recipe exactly as written but found the filling to be really dry and a tad bland. So, I doubled the miracle whip and mustard and tried it that way. I would give this recipe as written 2 stars but when doctored up, it rates 4-5. That's the nice thing about deviled eggs, you can keep tasting until you like it then stuff the white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
I've never made deviled eggs before, but these were easy and delicious!I needed more dressing and mustard than the recipe called for, but they came out great and even my mother was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
A good basic recipe but it needs a little tweaking. I too, found that it was much too dry and needed at least twice as much salad dressing to get a creamy texture. I also added more paprika and mustard as I felt it was a little bland. Otherwise, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is a good, basic devilled egg recipe. As others have said, though, it needs added dressing (Miracle Whip) to not be too dry. I made this with 10 eggs, so 10 egg yolks, and I used 2 t. mustard and probably 1/2 cup Miracle Whip. I also added about 2 T. of drained relish for some extra flavor, as that's how I'm used to my mom making them. They turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Deviled Eggs

Learn simple tricks to making these classic hors d'oeuvres.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States