Deviled Eggs with Zip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Normally, I love deviled eggs....and I´ve tried MANY recipes and flavors before. But something was OFF in this recipe. I didn´t like the flavor combination at all. I finally just chopped up the deviled eggs, added a ton of lettuce, and made a type of egg salad pita sandwich (I certainly didn´t want to waste 6 good eggs). The lettuce and pita ¨covered¨the flavor somewhat and made them edible. Sorry...this did not work for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Kirch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Was nice and zippy, but for a real nice touch place a sliced jalapeno on top of of your deviled egg. Delicious! Great with a cold beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
These are OK but I had to make changes for them to be good. I used probably 3x the mayo, replaced yellow mustard with dijon, put in about 2 T. pickle relish, and used dry mustard. I topped eggs with smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
My husband and I have been making this recipe for years. We don't ever measure the mayonnaise or hot mustard; we just ad lib until we get the flavor we want. We also never use regular yellow mustard, we add a little sugar, and we garnish with cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatalanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Pretty good deviled eggs. I didn't think it was really that spicy until I added another teaspoon of hot mustard, then I got some zing. Maybe that's just me, though, since I love lots of yellow mustard and too much can be spicy as well. I didn't buy the hot mustard but just grabbed one of those little packet they give you when you order Chinese, which worked just fine. I also added a dill pickle spear, put everything in the food processor and let it combine. Very nice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I love these but then again I put hot sauce on hard boiled eggs, very good twist to a rather bland favorite. Thanks Bonnie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Springer-Man

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
These were a nice change of pace, but they turned out a bit too runny for my liking. My adventurous guests enjoyed the tiny bit of zing--might make again, but I still love my "old standby" recipe best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
These were good but needed additional mayo and spices to make the filling creamier and to kick up the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I like things spicy, and was disappointed with these "devilish eggs." I made them again while ramping up the flavor ... I put everything into the yolk mix including Chinese mustard, boutique spicy mustard, jalapeno pepper juice, hot sauce, hot peppers, and a few powdered spices. This is a great recipe for experimenting with as I don't think anything can be done to make them too "zippy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

How to Make Deviled Eggs

Learn simple tricks to making these classic hors d'oeuvres.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States