Devil Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I tried this recipe this evening. Just finished making it as a matter of fact. I really, really like it. Ok, now, for those who said they had a problem with it being gritty. I really had to beat this for awhile, maybe 20 minutes. I started it first, then started the cooking the flour and milk mixture. I also used butter and sugar together and let it whip and cream. (I used butter because I can't stand shortening) I just kept mixing it until it was smooth and creamy. Added in the flour mixture and beat it for about another 5 minutes. Added the vanilla and let it beat for about 1 more minute. When I was finished, I piped it into the center of my cupcakes. Now, I did not use the recipe on here, I have my own that I like. So, I cannot comment on the cake part of the recipe. The flavor is really, really good too. If you have a problem with the flavor, I highly suggest you make sure you did NOT use a self rising flour or cake flour. You need all purpose flour for this. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingthetimeaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Granted, it's been many years since I've had a Devil Dog, but these don't taste anything like the treat I remember as my favorite from childhood. Both the cake and filling are just ok. With three teenagers in the house, they'll get eaten, but I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is just ok. It doesn't have a deep chocolate flavor, and the texture is on the dry side, not dense or moist. I wouldn't make it again without adding something to make it more devil's food cake-like. My family didn't go nuts for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I doubled this recipe, made a bundt cake and piped the filling inside. The filling does taste exactly like Devil Dog cream filling. In the first step of the filling making I whisked the flour and milk constantly on the stove top until all the lumps were stirred out and the mixture was thick. Then I let it cool completely. I used my stand mixer for creaming the sugar, shortening and vanilla. Then added the cooled flour/milk mixture. The filling came out terrific no problems. Tastes just like the treats I remember from childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
i followed the recipe to the letter. The cakes didn't rise and tasted awful, and the cream filling tasted worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
These are pretty tasty. You do have to underbake them a bit so the edges don't turn crispy, and I added a LOT more powdered sugar to the filling (and extra milk to compensate) so it wouldn't taste so much like shortening. Also, 1.5 to 2 batches of the filling works pretty well. All in all, great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
These were really good! Be careful with the baking times, it is really easy to overbake. Mine turned out a little crunchy at the edges. They still tasted great, but I was hoping for more cakey texture. The batter spreads quite a bit, so provide plenty of space between each drop. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening simply because I was almost out of shortening. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Johnson Condon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
These are very good. Sweet, but not TOO sweet. I think the number of servings on this recipe is wrong. Using the smallest pampered chef scoop (which is right at 1 Tbs), I got about 40 cookies (20 sandwiches). I doubled the cream recipe and had WAY too much of it. I'm going to make another batch of cookies this afternoon to use up the cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Simple, and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pencake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
We don't have Devil Dogs where I live but we do have Suzy Q and they are like them.I Doubled the filling using butter as I was out of shortening and put cocoa in half of it and in the white half I added almond extract. After the first batch ,I made the cakes smaller than a tablespoon because they really puff up in the oven. I will certainly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States