Devil Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Granted, it's been many years since I've had a Devil Dog, but these don't taste anything like the treat I remember as my favorite from childhood. Both the cake and filling are just ok. With three teenagers in the house, they'll get eaten, but I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is just ok. It doesn't have a deep chocolate flavor, and the texture is on the dry side, not dense or moist. I wouldn't make it again without adding something to make it more devil's food cake-like. My family didn't go nuts for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I doubled this recipe, made a bundt cake and piped the filling inside. The filling does taste exactly like Devil Dog cream filling. In the first step of the filling making I whisked the flour and milk constantly on the stove top until all the lumps were stirred out and the mixture was thick. Then I let it cool completely. I used my stand mixer for creaming the sugar, shortening and vanilla. Then added the cooled flour/milk mixture. The filling came out terrific no problems. Tastes just like the treats I remember from childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
i followed the recipe to the letter. The cakes didn't rise and tasted awful, and the cream filling tasted worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
These are pretty tasty. You do have to underbake them a bit so the edges don't turn crispy, and I added a LOT more powdered sugar to the filling (and extra milk to compensate) so it wouldn't taste so much like shortening. Also, 1.5 to 2 batches of the filling works pretty well. All in all, great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
These were really good! Be careful with the baking times, it is really easy to overbake. Mine turned out a little crunchy at the edges. They still tasted great, but I was hoping for more cakey texture. The batter spreads quite a bit, so provide plenty of space between each drop. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening simply because I was almost out of shortening. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
These are very good. Sweet, but not TOO sweet. I think the number of servings on this recipe is wrong. Using the smallest pampered chef scoop (which is right at 1 Tbs), I got about 40 cookies (20 sandwiches). I doubled the cream recipe and had WAY too much of it. I'm going to make another batch of cookies this afternoon to use up the cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Simple, and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pencake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
We don't have Devil Dogs where I live but we do have Suzy Q and they are like them.I Doubled the filling using butter as I was out of shortening and put cocoa in half of it and in the white half I added almond extract. After the first batch ,I made the cakes smaller than a tablespoon because they really puff up in the oven. I will certainly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Loved them!!! I doubled the recipe for the filling and used every bit!!! My first batch burnt a little on the bottom so I turned the oven down to 400, the rest turned out perfect!! The filling required about 5 mins of high speed whipping for the suger to mix in properly. This is a nice recipe to make with kids, and the ingredience are staples in alot of homes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States