Devil Crab Cream Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I have made this recipe for at least 30 years. I add garlic that is finely chopped, also finely chopped green or red pepper adds color, and I add 1/4 cup mayonaisse to make it in to a dip. I always taste for salt and black or white pepper as I do not use as much Worchestershire sauce. I realized it would be a hit when I took it to a Super Bowl party and the guys ate the entire double batch by half-time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Great great great! Loved how simple it was to make and will definitely be adding this to the Super Bowl menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made this for NYE party and it was a big hit! I made as directed except added a tsp or so of creole seasoning and instead of a ball I did a thin layer on a large platter and covered with cocktail sauce. Was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYLEE23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This cheese ball is great. I used 1 can of crabmeat instead of the imitation crab. I meant to add a little Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning but forgot. So we sprinkled it on as we ate it and it definitely helped bring out the crab flavor. So next time I will add it to the recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Mmmm? Mildly spiced? Not at all! This was the blandest tasting recipe I've ever tried. I added cayenne pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and eventually cajun seasoning mix to this dip to get it up to a mildly spicy state. The recipe as-is is terribly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Absolutely delicious! It was gone nearly as soon as i put it on the table. I accidentally only purchased 1 package of crab, half the amount recommended (too late to go back to the store) but it turned out great. Might be a great way to save a little money :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
YUMO SOMETIMES THE SIMPLE THINGS ARE THE BEST! THANKS FOR SHARING I WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN FOR SURE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Sheridan Buckley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Followed recipe exactly except I diced the onion and celery instead of chopping it. I like it better without the cocktail sauce which is odd because I love cocktail sauce. And I like it better with regular saltine crackers rather than club crackers. I love it straight off the spoon! 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
It would be 5 stars if my attempt at this recipe had the consistency of a normal cheese ball. However, after a day in the 'frige' wrapped up in plastic "ball" it did not really stay as such. My guests liked it and used as a thick spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Excellent!!!!!!!!! I used scallions and a bit of fresh basil and cilantro (have a herb garden) The second time had real crab and shrimp on hand very amazing! Love this recipe any way you choose. I ate the entire thing myself and had to make another the next day for it's intended purpose (a party)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States