Detroit-Style Coney Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Wow, I made this before. I didn't even know there was a recipe for it? If you can find them the hotdogs with the natural casing are the best. I could get them in MI, but haven't been able to find them here in VA. You can also cook the hotdog in the house, which is what I did. I was trying to invent my own quick coney dog and did just that. We also put some of the sauce on some fries with a little cheese and onions like at the coney restaurants. For a more authentic version make one of the recipes for coney sauce on here to top it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Never have I had a coney dog better than one from here at home in Detroit....Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charleevee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
You hit a home run with this one! I always eat my hot dogs this way, and I'm from Detroit, lol! Growing up I went to plenty of Tiger games!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hohenwald, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
They're the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Daddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
These were YUMMY! Great combo of flavors. Will def make these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I have missed these. I got a stash of sauce from one of the Detroit chains and used that instead of canned. These were a big hit during the Tiger game. Since I no longer eat hot dogs, making these at home with veggie dogs(I know, I know) is the only way I can enjoy them. Everyone else still has "real" hot dogs and enjoys these here as much as at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Very Good. Natural Casings Are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Forgot to get mustard which made me really sad but the rest of the recipe was helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Yummy. Just like what I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I'm from Louisiana and this is the way I have always preferd my hot dog/coney? I always new it wasn't local to me, but I never new that it was "Detroit-Style". TKS for enlighting me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States