Detroit-Style Coney Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I'm from Detroit and I've thought this is how most people eat a Coney ! Of course the best 'chili' for them is the bulk 'dehydrated' chili you can get from Sherwood Foods. and lots of diced onion and good mustard like Plochmans . one can also put on some saurkraut ( if your from the Hamtramck area ! )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLFOUCHEY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Ashley, so many States have a way of making dogs "their own", which I think is so cool. My hubby LOVES his Red Hots, so I'm always looking for new ways to make them for him. Needless to say, the boy was a happy camper when I served him your Detroit recipe. You're so adorable and I can't believe that you've got two little ones! Of course all Ashley's are beautiful as I've got a gorgeous one myself! Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Although I've had chili dogs, I did not realize the correct way to serve coney dogs was with mustard, and now I see that that's the only way to go! (Minor correction - I think you meant 4 hot dog buns, not 1.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Forgot to get mustard which made me really sad but the rest of the recipe was helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Never have I had a coney dog better than one from here at home in Detroit....Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charleevee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
You hit a home run with this one! I always eat my hot dogs this way, and I'm from Detroit, lol! Growing up I went to plenty of Tiger games!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hohenwald, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Very Good. Natural Casings Are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I have missed these. I got a stash of sauce from one of the Detroit chains and used that instead of canned. These were a big hit during the Tiger game. Since I no longer eat hot dogs, making these at home with veggie dogs(I know, I know) is the only way I can enjoy them. Everyone else still has "real" hot dogs and enjoys these here as much as at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Yummy. Just like what I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Yummy. The musterd and onions are a must. I also liked them with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States