Detroit-Style Coney Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I'm from Detroit and I've thought this is how most people eat a Coney ! Of course the best 'chili' for them is the bulk 'dehydrated' chili you can get from Sherwood Foods. and lots of diced onion and good mustard like Plochmans . one can also put on some saurkraut ( if your from the Hamtramck area ! )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLFOUCHEY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Ashley, so many States have a way of making dogs "their own", which I think is so cool. My hubby LOVES his Red Hots, so I'm always looking for new ways to make them for him. Needless to say, the boy was a happy camper when I served him your Detroit recipe. You're so adorable and I can't believe that you've got two little ones! Of course all Ashley's are beautiful as I've got a gorgeous one myself! Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Although I've had chili dogs, I did not realize the correct way to serve coney dogs was with mustard, and now I see that that's the only way to go! (Minor correction - I think you meant 4 hot dog buns, not 1.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
You hit a home run with this one! I always eat my hot dogs this way, and I'm from Detroit, lol! Growing up I went to plenty of Tiger games!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hohenwald, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Forgot to get mustard which made me really sad but the rest of the recipe was helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Yummy. The musterd and onions are a must. I also liked them with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Never have I had a coney dog better than one from here at home in Detroit....Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charleevee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I have missed these. I got a stash of sauce from one of the Detroit chains and used that instead of canned. These were a big hit during the Tiger game. Since I no longer eat hot dogs, making these at home with veggie dogs(I know, I know) is the only way I can enjoy them. Everyone else still has "real" hot dogs and enjoys these here as much as at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Yeah, Detroit...love these dogs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Wow, I made this before. I didn't even know there was a recipe for it? If you can find them the hotdogs with the natural casing are the best. I could get them in MI, but haven't been able to find them here in VA. You can also cook the hotdog in the house, which is what I did. I was trying to invent my own quick coney dog and did just that. We also put some of the sauce on some fries with a little cheese and onions like at the coney restaurants. For a more authentic version make one of the recipes for coney sauce on here to top it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States