Detroit Hot Honey Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
My husband and i could not get enough of these wings! They were so good! Instead of pouring the sauce over the wings, i basted them liberally with the sauce through out the grilling process. They were fantastic. I set aside extra sauce for dipping.The only thing i will do differently next time will be to omit the salt. It was a wee bit on the salty side. I think the hot sauce has plenty of salt as is. I think i will also omit the butter. With all the sweet honey, i dont think it will be missed and i will be eliminating all that unnecessary fat! I will definitely be making these again very soon!**Update: Ok, dont eliminate the butter..its waaay to spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I baked these at 350 for about 50 minutes (my oven doesn't get that hot though). Honey goes well with the hot sauce. I will make it a little hotter next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Oh my goodness, this was so good. I put them in the deep fryer for 15 minutes because we like crispy wings, and then put them in the oven with the honey for 15 more minutes. Put the sauce on and put back in for 10 minutes. I also upped the hot sauce a bit. My husband loves his wings screaming hot, and I like a little hot. These magically fulfilled both our needs. I am going to make these from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
YES!! I had these wings years ago at a Detroit restaurant when I visited there and, I wanted this recipe so bad I couldn't stand it (the restaurant owners wouldn't give it to me...family secret and all.) I followed your recipe last night, although I did add a little more heat to them and some fresh garlic (this is a mainstay in my kitchen) and my family just wild for them! Next time, I will have to triple the recipe because they were gone faster than I could sit down and grab a couple for myself! I did add a little more heat to them and some fresh garlic. Any city that can boast such a great chicken wing recipe deserves thanks.....so, GO "RED WINGS"!! :>D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
My husband made these last night on his own. He cooked them in the oven, 425* for almost 45 minutes. This recipe is one of the best wing recipes we've ever had. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I added minced garlic. Possible to use half the honey and still get the desired level of sweetness. Often requested at the fire station.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
We loved these. I did half the amount of hot sauce (Frank's) because we have young children that are not fans of spicy things (yet!) and they still had a very small bite to them that the kids were fine with. My husband and I who like spicy then dipped our wings in additional hot sauce and blue cheese dressing. I really wasn't sure how I'd feel about the honey and my husband who is a huge hot wing fan seemed just a little skeptical, but we were all pleased with the results. A nice change from typical hot wings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BIG GENE
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
These are the best. I grill them every Sunday when the Cleveland Browns are playing. They are so good I was compelled to take a picture of them. Which I hope everyone enjoys. It show how wonderfull they really are. BIG GENE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIG GENE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harrod, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
These are really good, although I think I could do with less butter in the sauce. I will probably halve it next time. But overall, very tasty, love the combination of sweet and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
My family and I love this recipe. My 10 year old daughter is especially fond of it. She asks me to make it at least once a week. I do add more cayenne pepper and I bake the wings in the oven on 425 for about 30 - 40 min. After they are done baking I turn the broiler on to crisp up the skin. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIS_2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States