Detroit Hot Honey Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My wife and friends all greatly enjoyed these wings. We have made them twice, the first time was somewhat of a failure. The second time they were amazing. Between the two tries we learned that Franks Thick Hot Sauce works best, the first attempt with regular was a bit to watery but the thick allowed for it to stick to the meat a lot better. We also learned to stick with the wing style chicken rather then the bigger drum-lets. The drum sticks were way to big and the hot sauce flavor was not strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
We loved the recipe but switched the order. We boiled the wings in liquids first then grilled. We also added fresh garlic. Either way, it is a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I loved this recipe as a base for really good hot wings. We doubled the recipe and did them in the oven. We seasoned with cajun seasoning (recipe from this site) and salt and pepper then cooked them for about half an hour before tossing them in the sauce. 2 cups honey was entirely too much (plus we didnt have it). We used 1/2 cup, I think. It added just a hint of sweetness that complimented the heat nicely. FYI: Be sure that you use good hot sauce. We only had some cheap, off brand stuff that wasn't so hot and the wings would've been beter if we'd used better, hotter sauce. Even so, these are the best wings I've had in years!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
these were really good. my boys enjoyed them with just the honey that we basted on during cooking. i will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncanville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Wow! I give these a 5+++++!! What a hit at the 4th of July party we attended! These came out so good that I actually ate three of them. I never eat wings, cuz they always taste too "vinagery" for me, but these are the answer to that dilimma. We seasoned the wings with red/black pepper, garlic and powder and salt and let them sit overnight in the fridge. My husband cooked them at 400 degrees for about 25 minutes, basting with honey after about 10 minutes. We tossed in the sauce mixture, rolled the wings around and served them up (they were all gone in under 5 minutes). I'm sending this recipe to four people today and printing a copy for my brother-in-law. ''This is an AWESOME recipe@!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I made these today, along with two other types of wings (BBQ and Teriyaki) for a pre 4Th of July cookout. The Hot Honey Wings were by far the favorite of everyone. Many people asked for the recipe. Follow the recipe exactly and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I made this for Memorial Day and we ate all of them. I did follow some suggestions and omitted the salt. I added garlic powder to the rub and fresh crushed garlic to the sauce. I heated the sauce on low for a few minutes to take the raw taste out of the garlic. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERYNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
If you didn't think these were great you probably made them wrong. Grilling is definitely the way to go. A few of mine got charred on one side at the end of cooking but it was a good flavor change every once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Awesome recipe. I baked for 40 minutes at 400 degrees and then basted and broiled for 5 minutes on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Harrison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Everyone loved these. a bunch of the boys asked for these to be a little hotter. I am working on a way to keep pumping the heat up. I decided to add ancho chile pepper with the black and cayenne. I'll repost about the results. I also bought some extra hot hot sauce. we'll see what the combo does. I put them on the grill myself. I do not pre bake them or pre fry them, they come out falling off the bone good. I just toss em on direct heat to char them, and then throw them on the top rack and close the lid. Pop in a thermostat until it reads 150 degrees. they come out awesome! I'll let you all know about the added pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States