Detroit Hot Honey Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Awesomely great wings! I seasoned the wings w/ salt, pepper, garlic powder and cayenne, and baked @ 425 degrees for about 40 mins. or so, until they were crispy. I did not baste them w/ the honey while they were cooking. I just mixed the sauce ingredients and tossed the wings in there once they were cooked, and set them back into the oven for a few minutes, so the sauce would get sticky...Perfect! The family RAVED over these...I will def be making these again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This was delicious. We followed the directions but used drumsticks, not wings. It was spicy but not lip burning, pleasantly sweet. Will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
So good! My husband likes hot wings very hot and you can really make these hot!! Our whole family loved them. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I opted to make these in the oven using a baking sheet covered with foil and lightly sprayed with cooking spray. I baked them for 30 minutes at 375 degrees (with honey drizzled over them), then I took them out, flipped them over and drizzled more honey, and baked them for another 30 minutes. After that I tossed them in the hot sauce/honey/butter mixture and baked them for another 5 minutes. Then I poured the remaining sauce over them. They were great! Next time I'll use a spicier hot sauce. I would like to try them with barbecue sauce in place of the hot sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Loved this recipes! I used orange blossom honey and was very generous. I used garlic powder and some cayenne pepper to season, and let the wings sit for 30 minutes. Then brushed with honey and into a 425 degree oven on a nonstick foil lined baking pan. After 20 minutes I flipped the wings and added more honey. After 20 more minutes I flipped again and coated with the hot sauce/butter/honey mixture and cooked for 5-10 more minutes. I probably could have used more heat, but these were really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolekrystyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This was fantastic! We didn't have wings, so we used tenderloins. When it came to the hot sauce, we used thai garlic chili hot sauce and added sriracha to taste. The heat of the cayenne complimented the sweet honey, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
My family loved this, we grilled the wings and the heat level was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This was good. I admit that I didn't follow the recipe exactly--we don't like sauce on the wings, so we just dip the dry wings into a bowl of sauce. So, like some other reviewers, I baked in oven on 425 for about 40 min total, basting with honey on each side during the last 15 min. I used Tapatio Hot Sauce because that was all I had on hand, and frankly, I thought the sauce was pretty spicy! So the people that say it wasn't hot enough must be pretty hardcore on the hot factor. LOL Anyway, it was good, but having trimmed off the wing tips, cut each leg in half, and gone through all the other preparations and tending to the wings while cooking, and then cleaning of all the pans, I don't think I'll be trying to cook wings at home again. It's not worth it to me--The chicken I used was $8, and then factor in all the time and effort and additional costs for ingredients (spices, etc), and clearly the right choice for my wallet is the restaurant option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Great recipe! Would like to try it sometime with boneless chicken breasts or even tenders. I was very impressed with the taste and the whole family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Anything from Detroit taste good! Classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Honey Sriracha Chicken Wings

See how to make delicious baked, but still incredibly crispy, chicken wings.

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States