Detroit Hot Honey Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Delicious and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I still prefer the Carolina Tangy Gold, Buffalo, and other spicy and zesty flavors. However, I will cook them again with more hot sauce and cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Super Bowl crowd preferred over traditional Buffalo wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
It's hard to say if I like these or not because I am a huge Seattle Seahawks fan and were against the Denver Broncos (were going to kick their little bronco butt btw) but they were freaking AWESOME so yeah. Also I am going to make these for the Super Bowl. GO HAWKS!!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brier, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe was SO good!! I fried my wings crispy (our family preference), drained them on a paper towel then transferred them to a bowl to baste with honey. I mixed the sauce in a separate bowl then poured it into the bowl with wings, put a lid on and tossed to coat. Poured it onto a baking sheet into 350 oven for 10 minutes.....YUM!!! Raves from hubby as well :) The honey and hot sauce marry well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I believe the recipe had TOO MUCH honey and needed more of a punch, so I ended up putting in the same amount of hot sauce as honey (they're on a 1:2 ratio on the recipe, and I like my wings a bit on the hot side). I also used less of the butter indicated and instead simmered it for a while and added some cornstarch (whisking it with a bit of sauce in another cup first) so that it wasn't too watery and sticked better to the meat. The sauce tasted great with the chicken and will definitely add it as part of my regular wing sauce rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlos Lavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
These had great flavor. I had to cook mine in the oven but still were yummy. Will make again for sure. I love the sweet heat you get from these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Best wings, period. The honey lends a sweetness to balance the spice. You can control the "heat" of the wings by adding more or less of the cayenne pepper during grilling. Note that the recipe calls for basting the wings during grilling with honey. Keep your flame low or the sugar in the honey will burn quickly. Followed the recipe exactly, using 1/2 cup Franks Hot Sauce, 1/2 cup honey, and 1/2 cup butter and had more than enough sauce to coat a 4 lb batch of wings with some left over. My only change to the recipe was to return the wings to the grill after coating with the sauce and I basted the wings with the leftover sauce for a few minutes. Absolutely the best wings I've had, even better than BWWs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
In the oven, but review so far: Yes, wings; but not really hot - as in spicy - wings. With review suggestion, I only used half cup honey. It's plenty sweet enough. Twice that would be way too much. I'm not a firebreather & these are just a little spicier than mild. The "add more if you can stand it" made me think these were going to be hot. They aren't. After tasting, I added 2T more Frank's. 'Still not all that hot, but I'm using it. I thickened w 1T cornstarch - could've used 1 1/2 - 2T. I simmered the wings 8 minutes to help with baking time. Baked plain for 20 & sauced then 20 more. Taste: Reminds me of those you'd get in a chinese restaurant. More sweet than hot - so good for that purpose - but for hot wings, not so much. Good kid wing recipe, I guess. One more thing: I totally agree with one of the fewer star reviews that said too much butter. The ratio of one to one, hot sauce & butter is off. I wasn't thinking & just went along with it. It's too greasy & dilutes any flavor with their being so much of it. I try to healthup dishes & I'm almost embarassed to look at the pan they baked in. The first thing my taster said was "Did you put honey in this?" No, not overly sweet; but yes, sweet. Sweet more than hot - & the hot isn't so hot. "Hot" should be removed from the name. All wings aren't "hot wings".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Awesomely great wings! I seasoned the wings w/ salt, pepper, garlic powder and cayenne, and baked @ 425 degrees for about 40 mins. or so, until they were crispy. I did not baste them w/ the honey while they were cooking. I just mixed the sauce ingredients and tossed the wings in there once they were cooked, and set them back into the oven for a few minutes, so the sauce would get sticky...Perfect! The family RAVED over these...I will def be making these again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States