Detroit Hot Honey Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This was sooo good. I only gave it four stars because there was so much butter. I fried my wings so I added all of the ingredients into a pot and let them simmer after melting the butter. My son loved them and he's extremely picky. Next time i'll cut the butter down by a fourth and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I tried these wings two ways - in the oven and on the grill. Frankly, the grilled version left something to be desired, and the flavor was almost non-existent. In the oven, the wings tasted wonderful and the sauce stayed on without burning. Also, I would recommend following others' suggestions to marinate the wings in the honey and hot sauce for a day before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These wings are the best!!!!!! Every time I make them people ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Yum. I have made these twice for parties and they always go fast. The first time I did them in the crock pot, the second time in the oven as the recipes calls for. Definitely better in the oven - probably over the top on the grill. If you like your wings spicy - add more than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Just made grilled wings for the first time using this recipe. They are much better than i thought they would be! I browned them fairly dark so that they would have crispier skins and they were juicy and good. Cooked them probably 15 min as they were on the small side. When seasoning the wings prior to cooking, I added garlic powder, paprika, and chili powder to the salt, black pepper and cayenne. I thought this added a lot of nice flavor to the meat. When making the sauce, I used unsalted butter so they wouldn't be as salty (since I salted the meat prior to grilling and Frank's Red Hot has salt). I would only use 1/3 c. butter next time as I didn't quite need it all for 3 lbs of wings. I also think the final sauce only needs 1/4 c. honey as it was pretty sweet. I thickened it up with a few dashes of corn starch as well, think that worked out pretty nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Amazing! I would just lay off the butter, it made my sauce watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Made as written for sauce. Used chicken legs instead of wings. All loved! (Those that like the heat, anyway!) Have made several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Amazing! I marinated chicken legs (got a ton on sale) over night in half of the hot sauce and honey. I subbed red pepper flakes for the cayenne b/c I am out. I also forgot the butter and these were still amazing, perfect combo of sweet and spicy! Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
this recipe is awesome!! i made it for my super bowl party and everyone LOVED them! they have just enough heat so they're not too hot, but they definitely leave a good burn once you're done. i will be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I made these wings for game day and were a hit!!! I did omit the cayenne pepper and used onion and garlic powder instead, the only hot sauce i had on hand at the time was frank's xtra hot sauce so didn't think i needed cayenne. The second time i made them i omitted the butter and they were still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peanut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Honey Sriracha Chicken Wings

See how to make delicious baked, but still incredibly crispy, chicken wings.

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States