Detroit Hot Honey Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
These were so good! I made these for Super Bowl - I was putting out all the food and this dish was the first one out. When I sat down myself to eat, my boyfriend already had a pile of bones on his plate! Clean-up is tough though because of the sauce burnt in the pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
My Family loved these wings. the only change I made is to pour the butter sauce over the wings after grilling and then bake an additional ten to fifteen minutes in the oven at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Wow honey really does lend itself well to hot sauce! I seasoned my wings with cayenne pepper, black pepper, paprika, and garlic powder (no salt!) and let it sit for about an hour. I have no grill so I baked the wings at 300 until they were tender and brown. Prior to baking, I spooned some of the hot sauce on the wings. I turned the wings periodically and basted with the sauce. For the sauce I melted the butter (1/2 the amount called for) in a saucepan, then added the honey (also half) and Frank's Red Hot. I also added cayenne pepper to taste. I let the sauce thicken a bit on the stove before adding it to the chicken. I reserved some to add at the end of baking. It was spicy and sweet. So delicious! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
The sauce was delicious. We were tailgating and I decided to try to combine this recipe with one of the ways I make wings. I marinated wings in Franks Louisiana Hot Sauce for a few hours. I added cayenne, salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder to flour and dredged the wings. I then deep fried them as I always do. When they came out of the fryer, I put the honey on them and put them on the grill as the recipe directed. I then tossed them in the sauce which was made exactly to the recipes specifications. They were outrageous. My husband loved them and some of the other tailgaters (who we don't even know) who tasted them, asked how I made them because they loved them so much. The frying and subsequent grilling made them crisp the way we like them and the sauce was a perfect blend of sweet and hot. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Wharton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
These were really good! I don't have a grill right now so I stuck the wings on a foil-lined baking sheet and sprayed some Pam on it. Baked them on 350 for about an hour, basting every 15 minutes and turning about half way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
These are great wings! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Made these wings last night they turned out better then expected, seasoned with salt pepper and cayenne and deep fried only used 1/2c of honey since thats all i had added bbq sauce to make up for the difference, minced garlic, and hot sauce let simmer while wings cook. Coated the wings popped in oven for 30 mins. Next time i will use a tad bit less honey and add more heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
My husband had never seen the purpose of hot wings but I made these and insisted that he try them. He loved them and now they are a favorite for us. I followed the recipe but I used Taco Bell sauce for the hot sauce. I also used this recipe for chicken legs instead of wings. Turned out just as great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This was sooo good. I only gave it four stars because there was so much butter. I fried my wings so I added all of the ingredients into a pot and let them simmer after melting the butter. My son loved them and he's extremely picky. Next time i'll cut the butter down by a fourth and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I tried these wings two ways - in the oven and on the grill. Frankly, the grilled version left something to be desired, and the flavor was almost non-existent. In the oven, the wings tasted wonderful and the sauce stayed on without burning. Also, I would recommend following others' suggestions to marinate the wings in the honey and hot sauce for a day before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States