Detroit Hot Honey Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I opted to make these in the oven using a baking sheet covered with foil and lightly sprayed with cooking spray. I baked them for 30 minutes at 375 degrees (with honey drizzled over them), then I took them out, flipped them over and drizzled more honey, and baked them for another 30 minutes. After that I tossed them in the hot sauce/honey/butter mixture and baked them for another 5 minutes. Then I poured the remaining sauce over them. They were great! Next time I'll use a spicier hot sauce. I would like to try them with barbecue sauce in place of the hot sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Loved this recipes! I used orange blossom honey and was very generous. I used garlic powder and some cayenne pepper to season, and let the wings sit for 30 minutes. Then brushed with honey and into a 425 degree oven on a nonstick foil lined baking pan. After 20 minutes I flipped the wings and added more honey. After 20 more minutes I flipped again and coated with the hot sauce/butter/honey mixture and cooked for 5-10 more minutes. I probably could have used more heat, but these were really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolekrystyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This was fantastic! We didn't have wings, so we used tenderloins. When it came to the hot sauce, we used thai garlic chili hot sauce and added sriracha to taste. The heat of the cayenne complimented the sweet honey, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
My family loved this, we grilled the wings and the heat level was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This was good. I admit that I didn't follow the recipe exactly--we don't like sauce on the wings, so we just dip the dry wings into a bowl of sauce. So, like some other reviewers, I baked in oven on 425 for about 40 min total, basting with honey on each side during the last 15 min. I used Tapatio Hot Sauce because that was all I had on hand, and frankly, I thought the sauce was pretty spicy! So the people that say it wasn't hot enough must be pretty hardcore on the hot factor. LOL Anyway, it was good, but having trimmed off the wing tips, cut each leg in half, and gone through all the other preparations and tending to the wings while cooking, and then cleaning of all the pans, I don't think I'll be trying to cook wings at home again. It's not worth it to me--The chicken I used was $8, and then factor in all the time and effort and additional costs for ingredients (spices, etc), and clearly the right choice for my wallet is the restaurant option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Great recipe! Would like to try it sometime with boneless chicken breasts or even tenders. I was very impressed with the taste and the whole family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Anything from Detroit taste good! Classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Just made some on the indoor grill, of course it took a little longer due to it being electric. But they still came out AWESOME. I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
These were so good! I made these for Super Bowl - I was putting out all the food and this dish was the first one out. When I sat down myself to eat, my boyfriend already had a pile of bones on his plate! Clean-up is tough though because of the sauce burnt in the pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
My Family loved these wings. the only change I made is to pour the butter sauce over the wings after grilling and then bake an additional ten to fifteen minutes in the oven at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States