Dessertlover's Classic Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Angie Linder
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This is the perfect caramel sauce. I added the butter after the sugar started to bubble. I also added a little extra salt to make it "salted caramel". I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
it crystallized the sugar and didn't brown!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trey
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I love this recipe. Very easy and achieves the caramel flavor I love from scratch. Some say it's impossible to achieve browning as directed. However, it works perfectly but not in 5-10 minutes. Be patient and allow 25-30 mins for the browning process. I attempted to add pics of what it looks like when you should first start to stir, when it is browned enough to add the cream, appearance after cream is added, and the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I followed Eillen's method of cooking & I believe it would be great except I think I darkened my sugar too much. & it has a slightly burnt taste. Next time I will turn the heat from medium to low when melting sugar. But pretty easy and I liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Tastes delicious! Even my very picky 6 year old said it was good. "Better than grandma's!" Is what she said. I did follow recommendations to do half white and half brown sugar. It was runny but hopefully with some fridge cooling it will thicken up, or perhaps more practice on my part. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I replaced the water with spiced rum as previously suggested and used it as a topping for apple bars - it was amazing! And a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I'm not much of a caramel person, but this hit the spot! So easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe! A lot of the other comments said that it didn't thicken, but it did fine for me after I refrigerated it. The most important part is NOT stirring it before the sugar dissolves or it will crystalize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
The first time the sugar recrystalized. The second time it was a watery white weird looking sauce. Then I read the #1 tip which is to heat the sugar by itself first to get that nice caramel color. The taste is a 4. I would try the recipe again with the change of directions..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Changed it up a bit after reading the reviews. 3/4 cup butter and only two cups sugar. Let it get to golden brown before adding the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States