Dessertlover's Classic Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
The only way to get a nice dark color... is to put the sugar in a pan by itself, sugar melts when heated...then browns. Then add butter, then hot Boiled water & hot boiled cream...then the vanilla extract and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This is the perfect "base" recipie! I did use half brown sugar and half white sugar to give it a little bit more chew. Also, I was using this caramel for a topping on my Snickers Brownies so I added about 1 cup of marshmallows at the end with the cream to give the sauce a bit of the nougat taste that I was looking for. This sauce turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mexican lover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
So delicious! I used Spiced Rum instead of water and evaporated milk instead of cream and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This sauce turned out wonderfully. It seemed like a large quantity so I halved the recipe prior to making it, and I still had plenty. A nice smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is absolutely delicious! Important to do exactly as the directions indicate and DON'T stir until the sugar dissolves. I made only 1/2 of the recipe and it made about 3/4 of a cup. Easy, delicious, and gorgeous color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Mmm this is recipe is just what I was looking for in a caramel sauce. It is a bit tricky to make though...after reading reviews I decided to add 1/4 c. brown sugar and 1/2 c. white (for a half batch of the sauce). I tried to melt the sugar first and after waiting for it to melt (or even start to melt) after about 15 minutes I added the butter to the sugar, I heated up the water and half and half (which I used in place of the heavy cream) to a low boil and added this to the sugars and stirred until the sugar was dissolved. I simmered this for 10-15 more minutes, then put it in the fridge to cool. I was a bit conserned that this was going to be to thin, but after being in the fridge it did thicken up. I used this with the Butter Brickle Freezer Dessert Recipe, making 8 servings of the sauce I had enough for the 2 layer dessert, plus more to drizzle on top. Yum, definetly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This recipe was fantastic; exactly what I was looking for to make a caramel dip for snacking on apple slices. To those who had this turn out as a thin, creamy mess, you must simmer the sugar until it is a rich, golden brown before adding the sugar. It can't just be thick and boiling. It has to be darkening, all the way through. A thick-walled saucepan is best, and yes, the times are probably for a gas range, so plan on more time with a coil or flat top range.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I needed this recipe as a base but I'm impatient. I used brown sugar instead of white and I melted the sugar with the butter until it started getting thick. I then added the cream as described and it was immediately smooth and creamy. If I had wanted it thicker, I just would have used less cream. My method took me about 5 min with similar results. Hooray for a good choice of ingredients-that's 4/5 of the recipe. The one star down is because of the preparation time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This is the best carmel sauce I have ever made!! The butter and cream make it soooo yummy. I took the advice of another user and split the sugar to half brown and half white. Outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Very good. It took 15 minutes for sugaring process #1 and over 20 minutes for process #2 on my gas stove. It's very good but you have to know to allow over 1/2 hour standing over it just in case you have a similar experience. It is definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States