Dessertlover's Classic Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This is the perfect "base" recipie! I did use half brown sugar and half white sugar to give it a little bit more chew. Also, I was using this caramel for a topping on my Snickers Brownies so I added about 1 cup of marshmallows at the end with the cream to give the sauce a bit of the nougat taste that I was looking for. This sauce turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mexican lover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Good basic sauce. I used it to drizzle on pear crepes ~ delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearlysmilin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This sauce turned out wonderfully. It seemed like a large quantity so I halved the recipe prior to making it, and I still had plenty. A nice smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
So delicious! I used Spiced Rum instead of water and evaporated milk instead of cream and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Very good and very easy to make - what could be better. I added a bit of brown sugar instead of using all white and think that enhances the flavour. Will definitely make this again - perfect drizzled over our Christmas gingerbread cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Okay maybe i did something wrong becuase everyone else seemed to love this. Is the cream suppose to be room temp? I wonder if the sugar mixture should be boiled for ten minutes and not simmered. Once i added the cream it did not boil vigorously :( Very soupy and not creamy any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaylex85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I used 1 cup (to make it thick) evaporated milk, and it was heavenly. Cooking time for both stages 1 and 2 was longer than stated, about 15-20 min, but maybe I had the heat too low. It was great over cheesecake, and now I'm enjoying it in my lattes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Easy and EXCELLENT (halved the amount no problem).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I have no idea what went wrong, I followed this exactly how it was suggested . . . TWICE!! both times had the exact same result, it didn't thicken. Too bad I tried it on Christmas day to go with the gingerbread. All was not lost, we just used whip cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is absolutely delicious! Important to do exactly as the directions indicate and DON'T stir until the sugar dissolves. I made only 1/2 of the recipe and it made about 3/4 of a cup. Easy, delicious, and gorgeous color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States