Dessertlover's Classic Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Kris(py)
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Very good. The only changes I made were to cook the sauce longer for both the first and second steps, and to add about a tablespoon of spiced rum along with the vanilla. I was freaking a little because my sugar wouldn't brown. It finally darkened a little after about 25 minutes, and I freaked some more because the sugar had created sugary crystal-looking things and I thought I'd messed up. But after I added the cream it dissolved again and turned out very smooth. It thickened up some after cooling, and I ate it with apples. Will make again and play with it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This is the best carmel sauce I have ever made!! The butter and cream make it soooo yummy. I took the advice of another user and split the sugar to half brown and half white. Outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Don't double. This turned into a recrystallized mess. I tried a different recipe that did not use water, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
The only way to get a nice dark color... is to put the sugar in a pan by itself, sugar melts when heated...then browns. Then add butter, then hot Boiled water & hot boiled cream...then the vanilla extract and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Good. I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 dark brown sugar. Next time I'll cut back on the sugar a tad bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Very good. It took 15 minutes for sugaring process #1 and over 20 minutes for process #2 on my gas stove. It's very good but you have to know to allow over 1/2 hour standing over it just in case you have a similar experience. It is definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
GREAT! Those that didnt get the right color, need to cook longer. Go by what it looks like, not the time it says. Mine got almost too dark but taste GREAT. Will never spend the money on jar caramel again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This recipe was fantastic; exactly what I was looking for to make a caramel dip for snacking on apple slices. To those who had this turn out as a thin, creamy mess, you must simmer the sugar until it is a rich, golden brown before adding the sugar. It can't just be thick and boiling. It has to be darkening, all the way through. A thick-walled saucepan is best, and yes, the times are probably for a gas range, so plan on more time with a coil or flat top range.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Once you get the hang of simmering the sugar its really easy actually, and i used whipped cream cuz it was all i had on hand and it still tasted great lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was good but tasted too much like cream. Next time I think I will use brown sugar with white sugar to get a better color. It turned out too light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States