Dessertlover's Classic Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This caramel sauce is soooo good you can eat it with a spoon! I make this sauce to top Joey's Bread Pudding! The BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
i used to buy tastefully simple caramel sauce for my icecream at $9 a pop(plus tax and shipping) after i tried this recipe i wont be doing that anymore. delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
just what I needed, I did use 1/2 brown sugar though and did a soft ball test in water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Perfect for apples!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I think I messed it up a little and cooked it wrong, but it still tasted delicious. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
OK everybody put your lips together and say “MMMmmmmmm”! That is what was being said yesterday at the beach with about 10 of my best friends. Made the full recipe (glad I did!) and went through several sliced apples. The only change I made was use the half white and half brown sugar version as suggested by several reviewers. Oh, by the way the sun and water was fantastic just in case you were wondering!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I needed this recipe as a base but I'm impatient. I used brown sugar instead of white and I melted the sugar with the butter until it started getting thick. I then added the cream as described and it was immediately smooth and creamy. If I had wanted it thicker, I just would have used less cream. My method took me about 5 min with similar results. Hooray for a good choice of ingredients-that's 4/5 of the recipe. The one star down is because of the preparation time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Against my better judgement, I decided to give this recipe a try. This absolutely didn't work for me. I followed the recipe (and ingredients) exactly and ended up with a watery, sugary...?....something. It couldn't be called a sauce. Maybe using brown sugar will help, but as is, this recipe doesn't work !! Boiled for about 20min to try and get the sugar to caramalize - didn't happen. Added the cream anyway (hoping for a miracle) and let it boil for another 20min..... Sorry - won't be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Pretty good....could be a little richer, maybe I will use brown sugar next time and see if that helps. I didn't have any trouble with the instructions like some of the reviews stated. I made the recipe as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This is a wonderful caramel sauce. If you cook it only 5 minutes it is much too thin to dip apples slices. But I cooked for about 15 minutes after adding the cream and it was thick and delish! Just test consistency on a small plate: drop a teaspoon or so, wait til it is cool and sample. Really great and very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States