Dessertlover's Classic Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I have made this a number of times and it is always easy and extremely good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Independence, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Beautiful caramel and delicious dotted in and drizzled on top of my apple pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Simple and delicious! I'm scraping and eating the last bits of caramel out of the pan right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Incredible! Served with pecan pie (recipe from Brigsten's restaurant in New Orleans). I did allow the sugar to melt by itself first (1/2 brown, 1//white) before adding the hot cream, water and vanilla. Considered doubling the recipe but glad I didn't, 1 batch was more than enough and I have leftovers! Super easy and definitely on the regular dessert list now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I was quite pleased with the end result. I will note it took 7 minutes for the sugar to dissolve and then another 10 to 13 minutes for it to reach the right shade. Added cream and then let it simmer for another 10 minutes. Set up lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is a keeper! I used a can of evaporated milk instead of heavy cream, and maragarine instead of unsalted butter because it's all I had, but it worked very well. I cooked part 1 for about 15 minutes, stirring constantly, until it was a beautiful golden brown color, then added the milk slowly, stirring constantly. Then, I cooked part 2 for about the same length of time, 15 minutes or so. It's in a bowl, still hot on my counter, and I'm not sure how thick it will end up being when it cools to room temperature, or in the refrigerator. If it's a bit runny, oh well... It tastes yummy, and I cannot wait to dip some apples in it or pour it over ice cream or drizzle over cheesecake! Yummo.... Happy Thanksgiving!!! And thanks for the recipe! My family will love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Easy to make, fantastic flavor. Served with "Caramel-Apple Crisp" by Kinza. As I was dishing up desert (they don't wait on me). I was hearing Wow's and this is great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Wonderful result, although I had a few minutes of panic during the process. It took much longer that 5 to 10 minutes to caramelize the sugar, and it really solidified when I added the cream, but in the end it was delicious and the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Delicious! I boiled the butter & sugar too long on my first round, but it worked great the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Quick Tartar Sauce

Delicious homemade sauce with just four ingredients.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States