Dessertlover's Classic Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
WHAT DID I DO WRONG???? Everyone else says they had problems with soupy results but mine turned into a crumbly DOUGH-like texture..almost like wet flour! I halved the recipe and used 1 part brown and 2 parts white sugar, cooked the first part for 10min and after adding the cream another 15. I took it off the heat and just 10min later it was hard and crumbly!! Am I really that bad??? Help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This tastes really good; mine was on the thin side, I expected it to thicken after a night in the frig. It didn't really, only a little. I made per recipe; I may go ahead and try as other reviewers posted and add butter later. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This is a good and helpful base recipe, and I thank Dessertlover for submitting it! I did tweak it as follows: omit the water, and instead add a heaping tablespoon of one of the following: Lyle's Golden Syrup (see note at end of this review), corn syrup, or honey. Cook the sugar and Lyles/corn syrup/honey together - with nothing else - until the desired color is reached. The darker you go, the more intense the flavor (stop before actually burning). Replacing the water with a syrup does several things: it makes a thicker final product; it allows the sugar to get much darker and to also get darker faster; it REALLY helps to prevent unwanted crystallization. You can abuse this mixture quite a lot and still avoid crystals. I add the cream, butter, salt and vanilla after the sugar + syrup mixture gets very dark amber. Then I reheat this final mixture to about 230 degrees F. This high temperature makes a thicker sauce. If you don't want it thicker, just reheat the final mixture to re-liquify it as per the original instructions. About Lyle's Golden Syrup: I use this in place of corn syrup all the time. It is made from sugar instead of corn, and I am extremely allergic to corn. It is very similar in texture to corn syrup, but much better tasting - it has a light caramel taste, so it is perfect for making caramels. It is more expensive than corn syrup - about $5 - $6 for 11 ounces. And it is a bit hard to find (amazon does have it). But it lasts forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Easy to make caramel sauce that smells wonderful while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Great flavor and pretty easy with easy on hand ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Um, awesomeness? I'm only awarding 4 stars because I had to tweak it a tiny bit. I added the water and sugar to the saucepan and cooked until rich dark golden brown, then added the butter and cream. This did take more than a "pinch" of salt, IMO, but who knows what a real "pinch" is, anyway?? ;-) The consistency is perfect and the flavor is devine. Made to pour over Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I am having a bad day with making desserts today. This did not turn out for me at all. I have another caramel sauce recipe I normally use, but wanted to try something different. Caramel sauces are very tricky in that, even the smallest crystal of sugar into the liquid sugar will crystalize it. I even used clean spoons to stir it. I made a 1/2 recipe, but that shouldn't have affected it. The recipe I normally use, has a spoonful of corn syrup in it. That aids in crystalization not happening. I got a caramel taffy lump sitting in some brown milk once I added in the cream. I really wanted this for a coffee recipe. Oh well, I guess I will be cleaning a pot for the next hour of hardened caramel. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Pretty good recipe for caramel and very easy to do. I used turbinado sugar and regular cream since I didn't have heavy on hand. It's pretty thin, but I did need it thin for the caramel apple salad I was making. Even though I never left the pot, I'm pretty sure I burnt the sugar. For what it's worth, I will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mydnight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Need more practice with getting the temp right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I have made this a number of times and it is always easy and extremely good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Independence, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States