Dessertlover's Classic Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Loved it! My daughter kept begging me to make caramel dip for apples and chose this recipe because one of the reviewers had used evaporated milk with success. I already used the heavy cream. For the next time, I will reduce the sugar slightly...it was sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was my first time making caramel sauce (for a cheesecake), and in the end, it turned out perfectly! But I would strongly recommend that you NOT stir the sugar mixture once it's completely dissolved, because it started to harden and re-crystallize when I did. Thankfully I was able to save it by adding more water and letting it do its own thing untouched. Once it looked golden brown, I added the cream and all was right again. I think next time I'll use spiced rum instead of water like a reviewer did for a more decadent caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I tried this just now. It turned into a science project. I'm sure it's just me. I've never made caramel sauce before. But it ended up turning into a strange smelling powdery substance. Most of the other reviews seem positive, so I'm going to give it another go. Hopefully I will get a little closer to my desired result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaykewanker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
So ridiculously easy and delicious. I made it twice and messed up pretty terribly the first time -- per others' suggestions, I used brown sugar and it was really grainy and separated. The second time around I used white sugar and didn't stir it at all; I just shook the sauce pan a bit as it boiled to keep the bottom from burning. It's true that once it starts to caramelize, it gets darker FAST, so make sure to have your cream measured and on-hand when it comes time. The finished product is incredibly smooth, thick and decadent. I made salted caramel hot chocolate with this and will always have some on hand to jazz up hot beverages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Mine didn't turn out perfectly but I accept responsibility for that because I didn't follow the instructions ... I read the suggestion from another reviewer, to brown the sugar first. I guess I browned it too much because it has a burnt sugar taste. That's okay, as I like burnt sugar but, when I make it again, I will follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Wonderful and easy. I add chopped apples and make a caramel apple sundae
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladwin, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
excellent just the way it is! I may try 1/2 brown sugar next time for more depth of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly as it is written and it turned out perfectly caramel-y, rich and smooth, the FIRST time I made it. The second time however, was a complete flop. The sugar mixture would not brown for nothing, and I just ended up with a soupy, vanilla flavored mess. I am no food scientist so I can't explain this, but felt I should adjust my rating after having two completely different experiences while changing nothing. Maybe it's a matter of varying kitchen environment, who knows. I did move on to the Salted Caramel recipe on here, which calls for a different method, and that worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Absolutely perfect as is- you can cook the initial sugar/water/butter mixture as long as you want to make it a nice brown color. There is no need to alter this is any way; what a wonderful surprise! My family went crazy over it... I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States