Dessert Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Betty Dickson
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Excellent recipe. Great consistency. Used recipe as is except combined flour, sugar and salt. I then lightly beat my eggs and added the milk which I heated slightly in my microwave to about room temperature, then whisked in the butter and about 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and a teaspoon of lemon juice. Sift in the flour mixture while whisking lightly and it avoids a lot of the lumping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Dickson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I love this recipe! I use it so often. It love that it does not require ingredients that are not already in my kitchen. It makes a delicious snack or dessert. The only problem I have is that the flour clumps up in my batter. But, it does not affect the delicious taste, so I am fine with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was an excellent recipe for a first time crepe maker! I followed it to the letter and it came out perfectly and exactly how I remember my french teacher making them for me in the 7th grade :-). I will definitely invest in getting a real crepe maker or pan as I did find some challenges with my frying pan, but they still came out awesome. The only thing I would say is you need to adjust the heat and cooking time according to your own stove settings, as the medium heat and 1-2 minute cooking time definitely didn't work for my stove. Other than that, this is truly a perfect crepe recipe. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I made crepes for my first time and I made 10 servings..... (My family is BIG) and we ALL loved it! Fast, easy, and yummy, we served these delicious crepes with Nutella, bananas, fresh strawberry sauce, lemon juice, sugar, cake and ice cream in a "buffet" line.... DELICIOUS!!!! Had a great time making these. DEFINITELY will be making these again. PERIOD. :D (did I also tell you my family and I don't like sweets, yet we loved these!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Wonderful recipe! Our family raved and wanted seconds! As one reviewer suggested, let the batter sit at room temperature for about an hour. Great idea! I doubled the recipe, and every single crepe was perfect! I used Pam cooking spray only for the first crepe. If you have a good unscatched fry pan, you'll have success! I used a small ladle to scoop the batter in the pan. The batter will be thin. That creates a nice thin delicate crepe. After pouring the batter in, pick the pan up and swirl the batter around. Use medium high heat. The edges will start to turn a light brown. Stay next to the stove....do a few exercises in between each crepe! These cook fast! 30 seconds on the first side and approx. 20 on the next side. I used a hand mixer to blend all of the ingredients together. I used 7 eggs when I doubled the recipe because they were extra large. Did not use vanilla, as some reviewers suggested. The flavor is already perfect! Omit the sugar if making these for a main dish crepe. I filled the inside with vanilla pudding, rolled the crepe, zig zagged a string of chocolate across the plate, put a spoonful of raspberries then a dollop of whipping cream and for the final touch....sprinkle some powdered sugar! It was a huge crowd pleaser! I even transported all the ready made ingrdients in separate containers, including the crepes, and they did not stick together! Warmed in oven for a few minutes.....toppings....PERFECT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
very good I like to substitute the milk for selzer it makes them taste a little lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I was a bit worried because I made these for Christmas breakfast, but it turned out amazing!!! I made them like the recipe said but I added a pinch of cinnamon and vanilla extract. The crepes were super easy to flip and not ONE "broke". This is definitely a keeper! My only question is that I kept getting huge chunks of butter because it kept cooling. To fix that situation I just whisked the batter each time before adding it to the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This recipe was AMAZING! I have never made crepes before and really impressed my family with this delicious treat. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla, per suggestions from other reviewers. I used a teflon pan, reduced the servings to 2 and had enough for four crepes. I left the batter out for an hour prior to making, and sifted my flour and sugar into the mix. The batter was perfectly smooth, the crepes were delightfully light and even. I did place the crepes on a paper towel to blot excess oil as they seemed to really absorb the oil used when I brushed the pan. On next attempt, I will omit brushing the pan with oil. I used Nutella as a spread, placed frozen cool whip in the center, and topped them with powdered sugar, a bit more cool whip and sprinkled mini choc. chips on top. I also made one with apple butter instead of Nutella. Based on my family's reaction, will be making these a lot in the future. Thanks for a great recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsport, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
These are my go-to crepes and we love them. Sometimes we add up to half the flour as whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dessert Crepes

Watch how to make these 5-star crepes.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States