Dessert Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I had never made crepes before, but thought, "how hard could it be?" Well, it does take a little practice. The first few attempts were "practice crepes"! You need the right sized pan, and it should be nonstick, for ease of turning. A tiny bit of Pam sprayed on the pan ensures that they don't stick, and worked better for me than oil or butter. I kept trying to turn the crepe to soon, and it would fall apart. Go ahead and let it cook until it looks completely cooked before you flip it, and then it only has to cook for just a bit on the other side. I also found a fairly low heat works best - around 2 on my particular stove. We fill these with a mixture of warm sweetened cottage cheese and cream cheese flavored with a bit of vanilla, and then top with either a fresh fruit sauce or canned fruit filling. Cottage cheese gets very watery when warmed, so you either need to strain it before mixing with the other ingredients, or use dry curd cottage cheese. We have also slathered Nutella on the crepe, filled with sliced bananas, and topped with slivered almonds and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
834 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
Amazing. I use this all the time because it has never failed me. A friend tried to skimp on the butter but hers did not turn out well. I have tried margarine instead of butter and that works but the taste surely suffers. (no true buttery taste) Definitely add vanilla extract. These FREEZE very well and have often rescued me when I have unexpected guests. Sounds like a lot of eggs but actually does not have an eggy taste to it. I have also used the recipe for bacon/asparagus wraps. Also, I have put in salt/pepper, goat cheese, roasted red peppers and portabellos to make it a crepe sandwich wrap...DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
557 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Excellent submission Ann! This is one of the best crepe recipes I've found so far. I added a little vanilla extract and some cinnamon to the batter for added flavor...though it's great as is. I made these for breakfast and as a snack for my kids. My hubby (who's picky about this kind of stuff) gave me 2 thumbs up. Will definitley make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I have been making crepes for 15 years, using various recipes and now finally I found one that is a real keeper! I mixed all ingredients, adding 1-2 teaspoons of vanilla in the blender for a perfect batter. Then I let it settle in the fridge for a few hours. These were the easiest and BEST crepes ever. They were thin yet sturdy enough to flip, maintained a perfect round shape and were delicious! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Delicious! I was an expert creper with the first one. Combine ingredients in the bowl and whisk together per instructions. Then put combined ingredients in the blender. Blend for 10 seconds. Mine had no lumps. Make sure to pour a little mix into the pan and spread thin by moving the pan around. My fiance and I loved them. Try with raspberry jam and cool whip. Roll then sprinkle with powdered sugar. These are soooooo yummy. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Absolutely wonderful. I added a pinch of cinnamon and a 1/2 tsp. of vanilla to mine. I served them with sliced strawberries, la Creme vanilla yogurt and a sprinkling of brown sugar. Yummy! The crepes were extremely easy to make and the recipe made way more than 8 crepes (but I used a small crepe pan). Great recipe -- definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
First time creper! And boy did I end up looking like a pro! This recipe was a cinch. Although, I wasn't able to get it mini-lump free all the crepes turned out munchingly good! Positive feedback from all users* (Ebayese)A++++++ The flavour (Cdn spelling) was subtle, not too eggy but still a little eggy, texture was smooth and the strength was all there (held all the strawberries/ice cream/ whipped cream and chocolate sauce in!). People wanted to know WHEN I'd become such a good cook. Humbly all I had to say was "Allrecipes.com, baby."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Thank you for this delicious recipe. I made it twice... the first time, I followed the recipe, and it was delicious. The 2nd time I made it, I added the same amount of brown sugar as the recipe called for white sugar (in addition to the white sugar) and I liked it even better. I also added a drop of vanilla and a little cinnamon. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
When I saw the recipe for this I was really excited. I found the already made ones at the store and they were quite expensive....these were so much cheaper and they tasted better. Thank you for a delicious recipe. I use them to make just about anything for the filling. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
I screwed up and left out the butter and these were STILL great. (I might continue to make them this way, to be a little healthier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by losangeles71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dessert Crepes

Watch how to make these 5-star crepes.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States