Dessert Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
Cut this recipe in half and use an 8 x 8 pan. I made a batch and took them to work. Two co-workers asked for the recipe. You can use seedless jam, or preserves, and still have a good result. This is almost identical to a recipe I cut out of the newspaper 25+ years ago, but then lost. In the first recipe I had, you could add some chopped nuts to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Very easy and very yummy! I love that it has so few ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
I had a little trouble putting the extra batter on top of the jam, but overall these were delicious! Handy recipe too, with very few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I love this recipe! I like to make big batches of cookies at a time and freeze them, and these freeze really well. I doubled the recipe and used an 11 x 17 jelly roll pan. I also have used different fillings instead of the jam, like apple pie filling, pineapple filling, and I've even used a chocolate hazelnut spread and almond paste in the middle. This recipe is very versatile, be creative and try different jams, preserves and fillings. The dough is stiff enough, it works with just about anything you put in the middle. Also, for the top layer, I just crumbled some of the remaining dough on top instead of trying to flatten it. It saved time and worked just as good. The rest of the dough that I didn't use, I formed it into a ball, rolled it out, and made cut out sugar cookies out of it. The dough also worked great as a sugar cookie dough! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I made this for my husband for father's day (he loves raspberries). It was easy to make, was o.k not the best I've had. They were very rich. I used non seeded raspberry jam (I hate the seeds).Don't know if I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I took this to a pot-luck last night, and it was well recieved. The dough is quite rich, and the jam inside is a nice surprise. It was far from completely baked at 30 minutes. We left it in the oven another 20 and it was nicely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
These bars came out inedibly greasy. They also required more than twice the baking time stated in the recipe. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I love recipes that are simple, quick and delicious. These bars are perfect when you want an extra special bar cookie. When I made these I actually added an extra cup of butter for more richness, used seedless raspberry jam and baked them in a 12½ x 17-inch baking pan for about 40-45 minutes. I made them for our family Christmas party. They were a big hit as everyone loved them. My sister-in-law loved them so much she asked for the recipe. (She calls them 'The Big Booty Butter Bars'!) She made them for her family and to give away as treats to the neighbors. I will definitely make them again and I will use other fillings as suggested by another reviewer (although the raspberry jam is delightful!). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Soda Springs, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I followed the recipe to a t and I did not care for it. Was a batter not a dough and would not get done even after an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldgirl15

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I have made these several times, but with different kinds of jams every time. My favorite so far is blackberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States